Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rolling Stones, The: Some Girls-Live in Texas (Blu-ray)

Filmed at the Will Rogers Memorial Center in Fort Worth, Texas on July 18, 1978, Some Girls-Live in Texas is a rousing set from the legendary Rolling Stones as they were busy promoting their then newly released album Some Girls. Originally shot on 16mm film, Eagle Rock has given the film a full high-def digital restoration, and the audio has been remastered from the original multi-track tapes. Though overall the video still shows its age, considering the source material Eagle Rock has done a fine job with the presentation.

The concert itself is great late 70's Stones at their best. With Ronnie Wood now firmly in place after replacing Mick Taylor a few years prior, the line-up was chugging on all cylinders at this point. The setlist draws heavily from the Some Girls album, so look for furious renditions of tunes like "When the Whip Comes Down", "Shattered", "Beast of Burden", "Just My Imagination", "Respectable", and the iconic "Miss You", alongside favorites like "Happy", "All Down the Line", "Honky Tonk Woman", "Star Star", "Brown Sugar", "Love in Vain", "Tumbling Dice", and "Jumpin' Jack Flash". The show itself was filmed in a small theater, so the ambience is sort of intimate, but the band was in a somewhat 'jammy' mood, so look for lots of interplay, especially between Wood & Richards. Ronnie especially was showing plenty of lead guitar flair during this show, and considering the shoes he had to fill (Taylor) he really seemed to be giving it his all here. The centerpiece of it all however is Mick Jagger, who is all over the stage throughout, so much so that the viewer, nor the cameras for that matter, can barely take their eyes off him for one second. Whether he's running and dancing from stage right to left with just the microphone, or strumming an electric guitar and mugging it up with the rest of the band, he's a force of nature and without a doubt the best frontman in rock, ever.

As I mentioned earlier, the video, despite the high-definition restoration, still shows plenty of grain, bot otherwise looks good, and the audio is quite crisp. There's a nice booklet included loaded with goodies, and on the special features section of the Blu-ray you get a recent interview with Jagger on the significance of the album, tour, and concert, plus some Saturday Night Live skits and songs from the bands appearance on the show that year. Great stuff all around and a must own for Rolling Stones fans!

Track Listing

  1. "Let It Rock"
  2. "All Down The Line"
  3. "Honky Tonk Women"
  4. "Star Star"
  5. "When The Whip Comes Down"
  6. "Beast Of Burden"
  7. "Miss You"
  8. "Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)"
  9. "Shattered"
  10. "Respectable"
  11. "Far Away Eyes"
  12. "Love In Vain"
  13. "Tumbling Dice"
  14. "Happy"
  15. "Sweet Little Sixteen"
  16. "Brown Sugar"
  17. "Jumpin' Jack Flash"

Added: November 22nd 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 1833
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by