Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ravage Machinery: The Dystopian Tide

Forming as long ago as 2004 under the name Replicators (a good name for a covers band as they were at the time), Ravage Machinery have spent the last seven years paying their dues by supporting a wide and varied cast of bands across their home country of Finland. Two demo releases have seen the light of day, but finally comes The Dystopian Tide, the band's debut four track EP.

Portraying a dark, foreboding future for our race and planet, The Dystopian Tide clashes a howling Death Metal ferocity with a brighter Thrash setting, resulting in four songs which punish with their brutality while offering some respite with blistering and surprisingly technical guitar solos. It isn't exactly something you could suggest has never been tried before; however Ravage Machinery meld both styles convincingly, especially in the heavier slow-grinding sections. When things really speed up, the fiery riffs and cymbal crashes veer just a smidge too close to uncontrolled and while that does add to the sense of danger, it can also result in a slight loss of focus.

Jukka Haarala is a talented growler, with his vocals adding guttural depth without ever becoming cookie monster stereotyped and even with his fist in the face delivery, I'm glad to say that on the whole the lyrics are actually understandable. Both Simo Pasma and Tuomas Valtanen on guitars and Rauli Alaruikka and Jani Suopajarvi on bass and drums respectively also illustrate that they are not only capable musicians, but that they form a band that really does convince with their technical, yet forceful attack.

Four songs at just over 27 minutes is quite long for this style of music, but Ravage Machinery use the time to add variety and (possibly a little too much) eclecticism to their approach, but it does certainly hint at what exciting music could be to come from this band.

As a starting point The Dystopian Tide is an impressive statement from a band who have clearly taken the time to make sure that their first proper release was worth their time and effort, therefore ensuring that it is worth your time and effort as well.

Track Listing
1. Thus I Serve
2. Lethal Slavery
3. Collapse To Retaliate
4. March Of The Consumed

Added: November 18th 2011
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Ravage Machinery Official Website
Hits: 3720
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by