Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Airbag: All Rights Removed

If ever you needed proof that all the good band names are already taken, then Norway's Airbag are it. I'm not sure what style of music that name does conjure up, but it certainly isn't the heavily Pink Floyd styled tones that saw the band make a decent impact with their debut release Infinity last year. Album number two carries on in an extremely similar vein, with latter day Floyd being a reference point across the six songs on All Rights Removed, although this time the melancholic moments of early Porcupine Tree, the straight laced Rock/Prog of The Pineapple Thief and even the odd hint of Talk Talk offer a little more deviation.

Assured yet sprawling, the six songs on this album are not afraid to make a confident stab into epic territory, although there's always a thinly veiled commercial edge lurking beneath the Gilmouresque guitar slides and the moody keyboardian Rick Wrightisms. In fact a whiff of Radiohead, or even Keane and Cold Play are never a million miles away, but somehow I can't see the masses accepting the six minute plus sombre blissout of "The Bridge", or the nine minute slow melodic trudge of "Never Coming Home", where Floyd are evoked to the full. That said if the languid style of Waters less Floyd is what you crave, then there's no doubt that you'll be beside yourself with joy at what Airbag exude.

The fact that Airbag so convincingly and respectfully mimic music that is so strongly inspired by one of the biggest Rock acts the planet has ever seen, will let you know that they are musicians and songwriters capable of grandeur, subtlety and poise, even if originality isn't exactly at the top of their must do list. That said, the fact that the prospect of any new music from Floyd is virtually nil and that neither Waters nor Gilmour can hit those heights on their own suggests that there is an opening for a band who so blatantly can and there's no reason why Airbag can't be that band. Add to that the ability to add the slightest hint of contemporary Prog and the odd chart worthy passage and All Rights Removed is actually a decidedly impressive release.

Track Listing
1. All Rights Removed
2. White Walls
3. The Bridge
4. Never Coming Home
5. Light Them All Up
6. Homesick

Added: November 15th 2011
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Airbag Sound
Hits: 2935
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by