Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Afternoon Gentlemen: Pissedography

Raw and angry, Pissedography leaps up and grabs you by the throat and thrusts its 100%-proof toxin down your throat until, thirty eight tracks later, you are punch drunk, barely coherent, and puking blood. With the tracks averaging around the one-minute mark, The Afternoon Gentlemen waste no time getting to the point. At twenty seconds, 'Know Harder' is a concentrated blast of violence, as is the fourteen-second 'Wrongcock', and the seven second 'You're Nothing' is over before it began! As tight, focussed, and angry as they are, they don't take themselves too serious, just check the titles. 'Have you got 20p for a cup of tea?', 'White Cider Rampage', and 'Drunk by Lunchtime' hardly reek of a band hell-bent on revolution now do they? Besides bashing the crap out of their instruments, TAG intersperse the tracks with samples from movies and other random sources that are just hilarious. 'Boozejoogler' for instance, opens with a sample from a hip hop tune (something about pissing barley?!) before caving your skull in with accelerated grind, and the religious zealot proclaiming that "getting drunk is dangerous, it is wrong, and it is a sin" is soon roundly trounced. But don't think that the samples are there to disguise or distract any feebleness in instrumentation or songwriting. These guys are more than adept at strangling incredible riffs out of their instruments and packing them into some absolute monster grooves.

Thirty eight tracks in forty nine minutes says it all really doesn't it. The bass rips through the speakers, farting angrily from the distorted and razor-sharp low end as the guitars tear through riff after jagged riff and the drums are beaten to a sweaty pulp. How the snare can stand such a pasting is beyond reason! And with grind grunts puked and splattered all over the album, this is seriously damaging stuff. Whatever the hell this is, it's punk, hardcore, grind, spazz, and cartoon-esque, like Mr Bungle and Fantomas in a bar-room brawl with Napalm Death, Wormrot and The Dead Kennedys. So strap yourself in and quaff yourself senseless with these men of mirthful malice. Great!


  1. Good Morning Gentlemen
  2. Tache Thrash
  3. Boozejoogler
  4. Bus Fare Saviour
  5. 7 Deadly Tins
  6. Rusty Axe Through Aaron Turner's Head
  7. Be A Dick
  8. Mincegrind
  9. Know Harder
  10. S.M.B.
  11. LS62
  12. Daily Grind
  13. Doley Denied
  14. Thrash Potato
  15. Fuck The 12-Step Plan
  16. Wrongcock
  17. Roy The Bread Boy
  18. Beer For Life
  19. Stupid Dickhead
  20. Piss Town
  21. Meths
  22. Have You Got 20p For A Cup Of Tea?
  23. Barthur And The Knife
  24. White Cider Rampage
  25. Docker Picker
  26. White String / Spare Change
  27. Daily Grind
  28. Hungry
  29. Thrash Potato
  30. Oily Groico's Back-Door Challenge
  31. You're Nothing
  32. Be A Dick
  33. LS63
  34. Roy The Bread Boy
  35. Booze Has Been Spilled
  36. Drunk By Lunchtime
  37. If I Can't Have Anything I'll Have Nothing
  38. Slow And Unsteady (Always Loses The Race)

Added: November 13th 2011
Reviewer: Jason Guest
Related Link: The Afternoon Gentlemen on Facebook
Hits: 2204
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by