Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Molly Hatchet: Greatest Hits II

The band that is still known as those guys that did "Flirtin' With Disaster" have release their second greatest hits package which is culled from their last five studio albums which contain some dynamite Southern rock and roll but most people would be hard pressed to say that they have heard any of these songs from radio airplay. While they have been relatively obscure compared with other bands in the genre, it doesn't mean that they haven't been busy and delivering some exciting music. This package which contains two disc show just where they have been lately and also what you might find from them in concert. The first disc delivers some monstrous swamp rock from their last five studio albums while the second disc is cuts from a pair of concert DVD's along with one new recording.

Molly Hatchet's recent studio works has taken on a more progressive feel in a lot of ways but still as this disc shows they wave the American flag proudly while expounding on their Southern values and ideals. Songs like "Son Of The South", "Heart Of The USA" and "American Pride" all are patriotic anthems that will have the Confederate flags waving and the fist pumping. You also get a terrific slice of Americana with the melodic power ballad "Rainbow Bridge". This one could be Molly Hatchet's "Freebird". It is what Southern rock and roll is all about even though it may not he considered a hit by some standards it is one in my book.

While the first disc explores the newer material of the band, the live disc takes you deep into "Gator Country". Reaching back to the more recognizable songs in their repertoire it is a fierce rendition of what you get from them live. I can remember when I was in high school and the local college had a $5 concert monthly and one day one of my teachers and I decided to go and we witnessed this unknown band called Molly Hatchet line the front of the stage with 5 guitars at one point and proceed to blow the audience away! They may not have become the household name that other bands of the era did but from that point on they were always a band that I followed faithfully. It has been a fun journey and this musical travelog is a very entertaining souvenir of the trip.

Track listing:


1. Son Of The South
2. Heart Of The U.S.A.
3. Tatanka
4. Fall Of The Peacemaker
5. American Pride
6. Devil's Canyon
7. World Of Trouble
8. Down From The Mountain
9. I'm Gonna Live til I Die
10. Safe In My Skin
11. Rainbow Bridge
12. Cornbread Mafia
13. Mississippi Moon Dog
14. The Journey


1. Bounty Hunter (live)
2. Gator Country (live)
3. Edge Of Sundown (live)
4. Whiskey Man (live)
5. Beatin' The Odds (live)
6. Dreams I'll Never See (live)
7. The Creeper (live)
8. Flirtin With Disaster (live)
9. Sacred Ground (previously unreleased)

Added: November 8th 2011
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Page
Hits: 1763
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

İ 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content İ Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by