Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Transatlantic: More Never Is Enough (CD/DVD)

When you hear about the progressive rock supergroup Transatlantic, you usually think 'epic' in every sense of the word. After a lengthy hiatus, Mike Portnoy, Neal Morse, Roine Stolt, Pete Trewavas, released the critically acclaimed The Whirlwind, and toured behind the album (with guest musician Daniel Gildenlöw from Pain of Salvation in tow) around the world. Giving the fans an 'epic' show, Transatlantic delivered 3 hours of sprawling prog rock, documented in all their glory here on More Never Is Enough, a killer package containing 2 DVDs and 3 CDs of the entire shows at Tilburg in the Netherlands (on the DVDs) and Manchester (on the CDs) in London.

The set list here on both options features just about everything you would want to hear from the band. The Tillburg show is stellar from start to finish, with the guys seemingly having a great time in front of an excited crowd. They launch into the entire The Whirlwind album, a prime example of melodic, muscular, symphonic prog, with all the players in fine form. After a break, the band tear into some other favorites, such as "Bridge Across Forever", "Duel With the Devil", "Stranger in Your Soul", and the fun encore version of the Genesis classic "Return of the Giant Hogweed". Throughout it all, the virtuoso musicianship of all involved never fails to impress, but keep an eye on the many tasty solos from Stolt, who is easily one of the most underrated players in prog today.

Video and audio quality on the DVD is excellent, as is the audio on the Manchester show. It all adds up to a truly 'epic' live package from Transatlantic that can be enjoyed for years to come.

Track Listing
CD 1: The Whirlwind (79:45)
1. Overture / Whirlwind
2. Wind Blew Them All Away
3. On The Prowl
4. Man Can Feel
5. Out Of The Night
6. Rose Colored Glasses
7. Evermore
8. Set Us Free
9. Lay Down Your Life
10. Pieces Of Heaven
11. Is It Really Happening?
12. Dancing With Eternal Glory / Whirlwind (Reprise)

CD 2 (71:08)
1. All Of The Above (31:57)
2. We All Need Some Light (10:22)
3. Duel With The Devil (28:48)

CD 3 (39:19)
1. Bridge Across Forever (6:02)
2. Stranger In Your Soul (33:17)

- Transatlantic Live In Tilburg: The Whirlwind

- Transatlantic Live In Tilburg:
- All Of The Above
- We All Need Some Light
- Duel With The Devil
- Bridge Across Forever
- Stranger In Your Soul
- 2nd Encore: Return Of The Giant Hogweed (Genesis)

Added: November 17th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4000
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by