Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu


IZZ is one of my favorite US prog bands. I have wanted to see one of their live shows since discovering the band back around the time of the release of My River Flows in 2005. Receiving this promo was definitely a wonderful surprise.

This is an excellent DVD filled with plenty of footage of the band doing most of their best tracks live on several of the US festival shows they seem to be consistent invitees. This is an extensive look at the band. Included are footage and excellent sounds from the band's sets at Nearfest in 2007, ProgWest in 2002, a Dividing Line, (internet radio), web - based broadcast filmed from their studio in 2003, and an in studio presentation showing their fans the creative process, with accompanied explanation. The band provides several tracks off their latest album, The Darkened Room, to help bring the entire project up to date.

The intricate work of this band led by John and Tom Galgano; the beautiful voices of their wives, Laura Mead and Anmarie Byrnes; the excellent lead guitar riffs and imagination of Paul Bremner; as well as Brian Coralian and Greg DiMiceli's matched power on drums will keep you more than enthralled for this extra full DVD presentation. Rather than tell a story through a slow, meandering documentary, they let the music and its evolution speak for the quality and effort of their work.

Most of My River Flows, (still my favorite album), is found throughout the tracks offered here. However, noticeably missing is my favorite and I'm sure a fan favorite Deafening Silence. That is the only "missing moment" for me. They had to choose to leave something out and that is an epic long track.

Watching this band at work live and in the studio really is a fantastic gift for all fans of the band and a great introduction to the back catalog to newcomers. This will make a great holiday gift for any fan.

Track Listing:

IZZ Live at Nearfest 2007

1. Introduction: Swallow Our Pride
2. My River Flows
3. Assurance
4. Coming Like Light
5. Late Night Salvation
6. Where I Belong
7. Star Evil Gnoma Su
8. Mists of Dalriada

Live at Prog West 2002

1. Spinnin' Round
2. I Move
3. Star Evil Gnoma Su
4. Razor


1. Beginning Jam
2. Double Bass
3. Another Door
4. Meteor
5. Lifecycle (Forever's Way)
6. Late Night Salvation/I Get Lost
7. A Soul in Flight
8. Assurance
9. Believe
10. Razor
11. Crossfire
12. Lornadoone
13. Where I belong
14. Credits

In Studio

1. Light From Your Eyes
2. Regret
3. Late Night Salvation
4. 23 Minutes of Tragedy
5. Crossfire
6. Can't Feel the Earth Part 3
7. My River Flows
8. Abby's Song
9. Stumbling
10. Day of Innocence

Added: November 6th 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 2176
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by