Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fourteen Twentysix: Lighttown Closure

Fourteen Twentysix is essentially the work of multi-instrumentalist and vocalist Chris van der Linden who adds vocals, guitar, keyboards, sampling, bass and drums to his new album Lighttown Closure. The Holland based musician also has help from Tom van Nuenen (guitar, vocal) and Jelle Goossens (guitar, electronica).

Lighttown Closure is the band's first full length release and continues the theme developed on their debut EP Songs to Forget released in 2008. I am not sure if there is a concept except that Lighttown Closure does have a sadness about it both musically and lyrically. Although some might find this to be on the depressing side of the musical spectrum there is no doubting the talent and work that went into this project. The album was recorded between the winter of 2008 and the fall of 2009 and it is clear a lot of time and care went into this production.

Whether you classify this as art rock, dark progressive rock or electronica infused rock, there is a minimalist quality here that cannot be ignored. If you only like your progressive music filled to the brim with excessive noodling and tempo changes galore you are reading the wrong review. If, however, you like atmospheric and moody art rock with darker edged musical themes and subtle electronica filled beats there should be plenty to like here. Although at times the music is quite sparse, I found the richly textured layers and darker shades of sound to be totally absorbing. I also liked Linden's vocals, they are reserved and have a melancholic laid back quality much like the music.

This release could be compared to some of Anathema's latest offerings but mostly I liken this to the sounds of nosound or the Steven Wilson led project No-Man. The songs do not vary too much from one another which is not a bad thing since it allows for a seamless flow from one song to the next.

My favourites include "After the Storm" featuring interesting effects and electronica beats all with a darker edge and the album ending "Lashes" with its darker hued layers of sound, emotive vocals and trippy atmospheric effects.

Whichever way you slice it this is captivating music filled with an undercurrent of sadness that is quite beautiful. Lighttown Closure may not be for everyone but if you appreciate the darker side of progressive/art rock it will be well worth your time.

Track Listing:
1. AM (2:27)
2. After the Storm (5:09)
3. Closing the Hours (5:19)
4. Gone Today (3:51)
5. Tonight I (7:43
6. Signals in the Sky (8:10)
7. Descending (6:51)
8. White Paint (4:39)
9. Lashes (9:14)

Added: October 26th 2011
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1976
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by