Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Avarin: Requiem

Avarin are a band based in Sydney Australia who have been around now for about seven years and having gone through the usual teething problems most bands face and the almost essential line-up changes, find themselves independently releasing their first album. The band consists of James Draper, Steve O'Farrell, Nathaniel Smith, Jonathan Talan, Mike Zoias who, in his second spell with the band provides lead vocals.

Requiem is a more than adequate debut album (holy faint praise, Batman) in the sense that there's nothing earth shatteringly brilliant on it although I did very much enjoy the guitar work especially on "Turn of the Tides" but equally there's nothing offensive about it at all. If I were to unleash the lazy reviewer's favourite ploy of listing similar bands then Fates Warning would be on the list although there are some more power metal stylings of some of the guitar work and all-in-all Requiem is a welcome addition to the file marked, "progressive metal."

Track Listing:
1. The Unwilling
2. Turn of the Tides
3. Shadows and Miracles
4. By Her Grave
5. The Black Rose
6. Burning Sun
7. A Shade of Doubt
8. Requiem

Added: October 26th 2011
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2041
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by