Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tin Scribble: Unlive In A Dead City

Detroit based progressive rock outfit Tim Scribble has released a mixture of live studio, outtakes and acoustic demos to fill the gap between their first album Children Of Saturn and a new disc scheduled for release late in 2011. For the most part you are going to find an album that has some very dynamic moments but also one that is hard to digest for reasons that I will get into later.

The thing that strikes you most about this album is the musical abilities of all band members. Mixing in styles that range from almost folk to jazz and of course a tad of metal, the band delivers a mesmerizing instrumental cornucopia of progressive rock. Fans of bands like Porcupine Tree, Hawkwind and even old school Genesis will absolutely love what they are doing musically. Tin Scribble is a band that can play with the best of them and the songwriting is as powerful as the delivery!

No for the bad. Main man for the band Michael Moore plays guitar, keyboard and writes most of the material for the group. In these functions his performance is on a par with anyone in the business. Musically he is the backbone and the main strength of the band. He is also the weakest link when he decided to also become the lead singer. You have to say that he has a unique tone to his voice for sure. With a vibrato reminiscent of Roy Orbison he also has what almost sounds like an Irish brogue that reminds me of the one hit wonders The Irish Rovers. The combo is one that does not fit well with the material. I would love to hear this with a powerhouse singer like Jorn Lande or even one of the many great vocalist in the Detroit area. I can think of quite a few locals who would turn this disc into something totally out of this world. I have tried and tried to get what he is trying to do but with each listen I still have to tune out the vocals for the most part and concentrate on the superior music behind him.

When he tones it down on songs like "Invisible Sun" it is at least palatable but still distracts from a great song! "For A While" is another example where he uses restraint and the results are much more appealing. Still for the most part, Moore's vocals have to be classified as an acquired taste to say the least.

This disc is a hard one to rate. Musically I would give them 5 stars as it is an outstanding example of what progressive rock should be. In fact it is sonically one of the most satisfying pieces I have heard. Vocally I have to give it at best 2 stars. Michael, turn this group into a true powerhouse and give the mic up to more capable hands.

Track listing:

1. Scizophonia
2. Abandon
3. Corinnia
4. Without
5. Voxpopuli Vox Dei
6. Wake (Acoustic)
7. Separate Silence
8. Invisible Sun
9. Breakable
10. Guitaristic At Ease
11. Bleak
12. For A While
13. Throwing Glances
14. Wake

Added: October 24th 2011
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Page
Hits: 1781
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by