Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Procol Harum: Live at the Union Chapel (Blu-ray)

Originally released on DVD in 2004, Live at the Union Chapel, a 21 song concert by the legendary prog/classic rock act Procol Harum recorded in London in 2003, is now being reissued by Eagle Rock on high-definition Blue-ray disc. If you failed to get yourself a copy of this fine show back in 2004, and have a Blu-ray player with a home theater system, it's a great time to consider an upgrade.

At the time of this concert, Procol Harum was comprised of founding member Gary Brooker (vocals, piano), Matthew Fisher (organ), Geoff Whitehorn (guitar), Mark Brzezicki (drums), and Matt Pegg (bass). The setlist here is pretty spectacular and damn near flawless, as just about every classic the band ever recorded is given royal treatment. Brooker still sounds great after all these years, leading the band through grand renditions of "Shine On Brightly", "Grand Hotel", "An Old English Dream", "Pandora's Box", and of course the timeless "A Whiter Shade of Pale". Having Fisher's dreamy organ tones on board is also extra special, but credit also needs to be given to guitarist Whitehorn, whose bluesy, biting licks on tracks such as "Simple Sister", "Hamburg", "Conquistador", and "A Salty Dog" commands you to pay close attention to his nimble fingers running up and down his Fender Stratocaster. 40 + years into their career and Procol Harum are still 'shining brightly' !

The picture clarity on the Blu-ray is quite good, as is the audio, so if you have a capable home theater system you'll thoroughly enjoy this concert. There's an informative interview with the always charming Brooker, and some other tidbits in the special features section, and the set comes with a neat little 'show program' booklet for added fun. All in all a must have Blu-ray for Procol Harum fans and highly recommended!

Track Listing
1. Underture
2. Shine On Brightly
3. Pandora's Box
4. An Old English Dream
5. Grand Hotel
6. Homburg
7. Quite Rightly So
8. Simple Sister
9. Weisselklenzenacht (The Signature)
10. Shadow Boxed
11. The Question
12. Wall Street Blues
13. This World Is Rich
14. As Strong As Samson
15. Every Dog Will Have Its Day
16. A Salty Dog
17. Conquistador
18. VIP Room
19. Whisky Train
20. Good Captain Clack
21. Whiter Shade Of Pale

Added: October 17th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 2022
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by