Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cyco Miko: The Mad Mad Muir Musical Tour

As you might know, Cyco Miko is the moniker under which Mike Muir of Suicidal Tendencies and Infectious Grooves fame releases solo albums, and, as with most things Mike Muir, The Mad Mad Muir Musical Tour is characterized by great variation, as there are many musical impressions from many different genres within the universe f rock music.

After the all out motorcycle-friendly opener 'M.M.M.', however, the second track 'Happiness (Is for People That Can't Stand Being Miserable)' reveals the one invariant element that constitutes the red thread that binds together the entire album - namely, the funk. There are funk elements in most tunes on the album, regardless of whatever other genres the tune in question draws one, so, essentially, this is a funk rock/metal release - and it's damn good.

Thrash metal lovers, should not get their hopes up too high and expect a Suicidal style crossover thrash album, although Muir does occasionally go back to his hardcore and thrash metal roots - most prevalently in 'All the Way!' and 'Full of It'. But Muir also explores industrial metal territory in the track 'Slightly' and 'Got Feelings?' is an emotional ballad, while 'What It Is!' plays with old school hip hop sounds, and 'Slo Death' is full of psychotropic gloom and doom. The remaining tracks, although varied, mostly fall under the rubrics of alternative metal and funk metal.

The production is excellent and very crisp and well-defined, but I do wish that the bass would be even more dominant in the mix than it is now, so the listener could really, really enjoy all the poppin' and a-slappin'.

The Mad Mad Muir Musical Tour is a varied and very enjoyable funk rock/metal release that should appeal to anyone who like their hard rocking music funkay!

Track listing:
1. M.M.M.
2. Happiness (Is for People That Can't Stand Being Miserable)
3. All the Way!
4. Got Feelings?
5. Alone
6. Slightly
7. Done Gone Stupid
8. Full of It
9. Hang On
10. Logical Thoughts of a Lunatic
11. Who's Next?
12. What It Is!
13. Slo Death
14. So What? (If We Don't Care!)
15. Soulvation

Added: October 13th 2011
Reviewer: Kim Jensen
Related Link: Suicidal Tendencies & Mike Muir official websi
Hits: 2658
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by