Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Man Made Machine: Become

Like many bands, Man Made Machine and the ability to bring their metal mayhem to the masses rely heavily on a bit of luck. Bass player Justyn Sena was working in a restaurant that just happened to be the eating choice of music executive Steven Kidd and his wife. Justyn hearing them discussing the world in which he and his band would love to be a part of he struck up a conversation with Kidd about his band and like the saying goes...the rest is history!

Luck cannot be the only factor though, you have to have the talent to go along with it. Man Made Machine or (MMM) has all the right elements to make them them what could be one of the next heavyweights in the metal scene. They have a solid sound that brings together the gritty/harshness of today's music with a keen sense of the roots of metal that has a definitely 90's twist to their style. You can hear a grunginess that harkens back to groups like STP and Nirvana as well as a more modern heaviness that centers around the raspy vocals of lead singer Joe Cotela.

From the opening moments of the disc when "Liar and a Thief" attacks your central nervous system you are assaulted with the type of in your face metal that will have the body twitching and fist pumping when they get to the big anthem like chorus. This is a common theme with the disc and might be the only real negative point I can bring out which is that too many of the songs are cut from the same cloth. When it comes to this quality of music though it is a relative small complaint as they do it so well and do so with lyrical themes that everyone can relate to which makes this one a great listen and one of those little rock and roll gems that you will be glad to possess.

You have to love a band that takes such a real approach to their music and the stories that go along with it. From the feel sorry for me tracks like "Nobody Loves Me" and "Victim" to the don't mess with me anthem "Bad M**********r" you will relate to what they have to say as well as enjoy the terrific metal medium they use to deliver the message. These guys just flat out rock and it is one to crank up as high as you can and play a bit of rock star yourself with!

Even when they slow it down a bit as with the heavy "Everything You Deserve" the band fires on all cylinders with this large power balled type song that should bring out the lighters in full force come concert time. They might slow it down but the group never lets up with the heaviness. This is how metal is done folks. MMM manages to combine the heaviness and the melodic with real life lyrics into a musical concoction that is a disc you will never tire of hearing. I can't wait to see where they take it from here. If they can maintain this level it will be hard for them not to become one of the major players in the music scene.

Track listing:

1. Liar and a Thief
2. Nobody Loves Me
3. Victim
4. Angels And Devils
5. Bad M**********r
6. Everthing You Deserve
7. Pain
8. Paranoid
9. Ready Aim Fire
10. Break Me
11. Change
12. See You In Hell

Added: October 4th 2011
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 2083
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by