Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Textures: Dualism

Holland metal act Textures have a new singer in Daniel de Jongh, a brand new record deal with Nuclear Blast, and a new CD called Dualism. All things always seem to come in three's, and for Textures all point in a very positive direction for this talented band. If you've liked their brand of technical/death/prog metal, Dualism will push all the right buttons for you and offer up some new surprises.

The band still has a love for deep, bottom heavy Meshuggah styled grooves, which you can plainly hear on opener "Arms of the Sea", a complex ripper that will shake the foundation of whatever dwelling you might happen to be in. The dual riffery from Jochem Jacobs & Bart "Bastærd" Hennephof is quite effective throughout, massively heavy at times, but with plenty of intricate passages thrown in. The gymnastic rhythms are courtesy of wildman drummer Stef Broks and bassist Remko Tielemans, and keyboard player Uri Dijk adds the right amount of atmospherics. The proggy "Reaching Home" is a wonderful piece, chock full of melody, addicting guitar layers, and de Jongh's wonderful clean vocal passages. In fact, the singer is one of the most fascinating aspects of Dualism, as his variety of growls, screams, and melodic vocals adds plenty of variety to these songs. Fans of Scar Symmetry and Mercenary will really dig what he brings to the table here. His brutal growls on "Sanguine Draws The Oath" bludgeon the listener with extreme metal fury, while " Burning The Midnight Oil" and "Singularity" both are prime tracks to check out the bands surpreme musical chops.

Dualism contains great songs, stellar production, dynamic vocals, kick ass musicianship, and plenty of brutality. If you are new to the sounds of Textures, this is a great place to start.

Track Listing
1. Arms of the Sea (6:33)
2. Black Horses Stampede (3:56)
3. Reaching Home (5:10)
4. Sanguine Draws The Oath (5:56)
5. Consonant Hemispheres (4:20)
6. Burning The Midnight Oil (5:39)
7. Singularity (6:46)
8. Minor Earth, Major Skies (4:40)
9. Stoic Resignation (5:08)
10. Foreclosure (2:56)
11. Sketches From A Motionless Statue (5:21)

Added: September 28th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2836
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by