Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Universe Divide, The: Dust Settles On The Odontophobes

Former Canvas Solaris members Chris Rushing (guitars) and Gal Pirlot (bass) decided not to wait too long after that band imploded to resurrect a little side project they had been tossing around for a few years, and that outfit is called The Universe Divide. Along with drummer Jason Parker, this new trio have unleashed Dust Settles On The Odontophobes, a crushing display of complex, melodic, instrumental progressive metal. Easily as complex as recent Canvas Solaris material, and certainly much heavier, Dust Settles On The Odontophobes shows that The Universe Divide have all the tools to draw the attention of metal fans who like the sophisticated and heavy sounds of acts such as Cynic, Obscura, Behold the Arctopus, Opeth, Between the Buried and Me, and Dream Theater.

If you've followed their career in Canvas Solaris, you should already be aware of the supreme skills of both Rushing and Pirlot. Rushing especially is a complete beast here on Dust Settles On The Odontophobes, as his monstrously crushing riffage and wild complex solos & fills permeate each and every track. Pirlot's sinewy bass lines add that fusion touch, but he also contributes some booming & massive grooves, especially on the sledgehammer track " Of Optimism the Glass Vein". Parker's complex stick work on "Of Realism the Lead Artery" adds a dynamic underpinning to the metallic textures of that piece, which also features what sounds like some guitar synth or keyboards, monster riffing, and elastic bass lines. Each track here on this EP is captivating, skull crushing, melodic, and mind bendingly adventurous, easily appealing to both prog & metal fans alike.

In short, this is a release that I can certainly recommend without a bit of hesitation. Much heavier than I thought it would be, and jaw droppingly complex at times, Of Realism the Lead Artery is one of 2011's biggest surprises and also one of the best instrumental albums I've heard this year.

Track Listing
1. Cyclical Procession
2. Phi-Inverted
3. Of Optimism the Glass Vein
4. Of Realism the Lead Artery
5. Curator of the Seventh Automation

Added: January 15th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3316
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Universe Divide, The: Dust Settles On The Odontophobes
Posted by Jon Neudorf, SoT Staff Writer on 2012-01-15 08:44:51
My Score:

I am not sure what an odontophobe is but what I can tell you is this; these two songs taken from The Universe Divide's debut EP Dust Settles On The Odontophobes are excellent slices of technical progressive metal.

Gael Pirlot (six string fretless bass, programming) and Chris Rushing (seven string electric guitar, acoustic guitar, programming) formed the band in 2007. After a slow start the duo concentrated on their other project Canvas Solaris until they met drummer Jason Parker in 2009 and a rebirth of the band commenced.

If the rest of the EP is anything like these two songs it will be very impressive indeed. Both "Phi Inverted" and "Of Optimism The Glass Vein" demonstrate the band's tremendous skill and virtuosity. The band seamlessly melds atmospheric sections with bone crushing riffs and intense drum work. Keyboards are effectively used for texture especially in the slower sections. Awesome stuff.

This short CD sampler leaves me wanting to hear more. I for one cannot wait for a full length release.

Universe Divide, The: Dust Settles On The Odontophobes
Posted by Steven Reid, SoT Staff Writer on 2011-11-15 17:46:47
My Score:

Mention the genre Progressive Metal and 99 times out of 100 you are going to think of something along the lines of Dream Theater, but as most genre tags tend to, that description would be seriously selling most of the bands within it very short indeed, with The Universe Divide being a prime example. Undoubtedly what this Atlanta based trio have come up with is Metal and boy is it Progressive, however in terms of structure and complexity, the two tracks (from the five on the band's debut EP Dust Settles On The Odontophobes) which are included on this promo sampler have as much in common with jazz as they do trad-Prog metal.

"Phi Inverted" is a muscular romp through boinging bass lines and thrusting riffs that have an almost Latin feel to them, like some warped and insane tango. The drumming from Jason Parker is quite phenomenal, blasting out crazy fills and thunderous double kick work that somehow underpins the springy bass work of Gael Pirlot and in your face axe attack that Chris Rushing punishes out of his guitar. It isn't an easy ride, but fasten your seatbelts as "Of Optimism The Glass Veil" is even less compromising. Cymbal crashes, staccato drum bursts and intense walls of guitar immediately smash their way out of the speakers, before making way for a short restrained bass led jaunt that introduces more Prog-Metal-Fusion and that's before I even get to the sampling and programming that add new dimension to the already eclectic mix.

As a short (just over ten minutes) introduction to a band this sampler does a mighty fine job, especially when you consider that the two tracks included contain more ideas than most bands would contemplate for a full album! Goodness only knows what delights are stored in the other three tracks on Dust Settles On The Odontophobes, but I can't wait to find out!

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by