Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Nunslaughter: Demoslaughter

This compilation of sorts unites all their six demos on one CD. These were previously limited and available on cassettes and 7" EPs. You also have some mysterious recordings gathered during their 20 years life span.

You have seen the cover art and this is pretty much representative of the noise recorded here. I know, I know those are demos, still getting through this album in one sitting is no easy endeavor. By the sound quality, I was able to differentiate the different demos included. Demo 1= tracks 1-4; 2= 5-9; 3= 10-16; 4= 17-19; 5= 20-24 and 6 = 25-30. The four remaining must be what the info called "obscure rehearsals and the 1985 demo from Death Sentence". I might be wrong, but with no other clues, it is my best guest. Anyways, what we can hear on these demos is some mean blackened death metal venom. This is abrasive and raw music and the song content is blasphemous. Now I can judge that by the wicked vibe of the vocals and the track listing, of course. You normally can't understand a word this guy is saying and on demo # 2, (tracks 5-9), the production is so bad, you don't get much more than buzzing noises to listen. On the other hand, I found the tracks not too repetitive and, in a few occasions, some melodic hues are offered to the listener. I even enjoyed their slower and doom style such as in: "Nunslaughter", "Church of Disgust" and the cleaner sounding "The Guts of Christ". Most of the time what you get is basically buzzing bass, razor sounding guitars, kicking drums, often of the cardboard sounding type and undecipherable or harsh growls voices. A few vocals and music samplings, most likely extracts from movies, are scattered here and there. Compositions like "Burn in Hell", "You Bleed" and "Slaughter the Heavens are where they can be heard.

To sum up, DemoSlaughter is just a collector and hardcore fan compilation. Otherwise, I would recommend staying away from it.

Track listing:
1. I Am Death
2. Hells Unholy Fire
3. Killed by the
4. Nunslaughter
5. Burn in Hell
6. Hells Unholy Fire
7. Death by the Dead
8. Killed by the Cross
9. Cataclysm
10. I Am Death
11. Impale the Soul of Christ...
12. Blasphemy of the Flesh
13. Burning Away
14. Perversion of Gore
15. Seas of Blood
16. Altar of the Dead
17. Inverted Churches
18. Alive but Dead
19. Burn in Hell
20. Ritual of Darkness
21. The Guts of Christ
22. Sacrificial Zombie
23. You Bleed
24. Church of Disgust
25. Power of Darkness
26. Pyre
27. Lucifer
28. To Defile
29. Immortalize
30. Face of Evil
31. Slaughter the Heavens
32. Church Bizarre
33. Poisoned Priest
34. Armies of the Dead

Added: September 25th 2011
Reviewer: Denis Brunelle
Related Link: Hells Headbangers
Hits: 1731
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by