Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fastway: Eat Dog Eat

Even though everybody seems to be reuniting in one form or another the return of Fastway has to be one of the more unexpected, albeit no less welcome. Dormant now for a long time Eat Dog Eat marks their first new studio album since 1990 and features the remodelled line-up of Fast Eddie Clarke, drummer Matt Eldridge and former Little Angels and Gun frontman Toby Jepson (more latterly to be found on stage with Dio Disciples). Jepson has always been a class act and with Fast Eddie in inspired songwriting form this is an impressive comeback that will be lapped up by old-timers and should win them plenty of new admirers along the way. Hitting their stride immediately with the mid-tempo blues rocker "Deliver Me" it is clear that Fastway 2011 are slick, streamlined and bursting with confidence.

Even back in his Motörhead days Clarke could always come up with a great melody and "Leave A Light On" has that memorable swagger that was a trademark of Fastway's first era when they had considerable success with both the eponymous debut and All Fired Up. He can also still deliver a sharp solo, notably on the aforementioned "Leave A Light..." and the rousing "Who Do You Believe". A title of "Love I Need" may suggest a ballad but the insistent, grinding riff and Jepson's call and response delivery equals another moody blues rocker with Clarke again serving up a tasty solo. "On and On" ends the album with some powerhouse drumming from the energetic Eldridge and more blistering guitar work.

With the benefit of some crisp and clear production Eat Dog Eat sounds remarkably fresh, aided by contemporary lyrics sung by one of the best rock vocalists around. The Clarke-Jepson combination has worked out perfectly and hopefully we will see them on the road over the coming months to promote what is an excellent album.

Track Listing
1.Deliver Me 4:41
2. Fade Out 4:05
3. Leave The Light On 3:55
4. Loving Fool 4:30
5. Dead And Gone 5:49
6. Sick As A Dog 3:44
7. Freedom Song 3:52
8. Do You Believe 4:04
9. Love I Need 4:37
10. On And On 3:53

Added: March 8th 2012
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: MySpace
Hits: 4961
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by