Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Anthrax: Worship Music

The thrash titans are back! Anthrax, one of the 'Big 4' of thrash metal along with Metallica, Slayer, and Megadeth, haven't released a studio CD since earlier this decade, and it's been about 20 years since vocalist Joey Belladonna fronted the band other than a quick reunion tour a few years ago. Well, here we are in 2011 and Joey is back in the band and Anthrax have a hot new release out in the form of Worship Music. To say this is a return to the glory days of Spreading the Disease, State of Euphoria, and Among the Living is an understatement.

Just listen to the killer opening 1-2-3 punch of "Earth On Hell", "The Devil You Know" (easily the catchiest song here), and " Fight 'Em Til You Can't" for all the classic Anthrax elements; crunchy riffs, blistering drum work, tons of groove, and Belladonna's trademark melodic wail. The band (drummer Charlie Benante, guitarists Scott Ian and Robb Caggiano, and bassist Frank Bello) are in fine form throughout here, with Caggiano especially delivering some wild solos amidst all the riffery from Ian. What always made Anthrax' classic material so enjoyable were the catchy melodies and grooves, and they've managed to take that time machine back to their golden era here on Worship Music. Other highlights include the crushing "In the End", the rapid fire thrash attack of "The Giant" (great lead & backing vocals on this one), and the grinding "Judas Priest". If you thought that Anthrax forgot how to come up with classic thrash riffs, well, listen to "Revolution Screams" and prepare to get 'caught in the mosh'!

Seeing as how the 'Big 4' have been touring the world together in recent months, you can be fairly certain that their loyal fanbase will no doubt fully get behind Worship Music as a return to form for Anthrax. Though the band put out a few excellent albums with John Bush as lead singer, the line-up with Belladonna is really what most want to hear, and the band have given the fans what they wanted here in a big way.

Track Listing
1. Worship (Intro) 1:40
2. Earth On Hell 3:10
3. The Devil You Know 4:46
4. Fight 'Em Til You Can't 5:48
5. I'm Alive 5:36
6. In the End 6:48
7. The Giant 3:47
8. Judas Priest 6:24
9. Crawl 5:29
10. The Constant 5:01
11. Revolution Screams 6:09

Added: September 14th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 2260
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by