Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rodgers, Paul, & Friends: Live at Montreux 1994 (DVD)

In support of his Muddy Waters Blues album, Paul Rodgers and his solo band took to the stage at the Montreux Jazz Festival in 1994, playing a full set that featured some blues staples as well as scorching reditions of classic Free & Bad Company material. Featured in the band alongside the vocal legend was drummer Jason Bonham, guitarist Neal Schon, bassist John Smithson, and guitarist Ian Hatton. Guests include Queen's Brian May, Toto's Steve Lukather, as well as Eddie Kirkland and festival organizer Claude Nobs.

Highlights include killer renditions of "Wishing Well", "Fire and Water", "Mr. Big", and "The Hunter", Free classics that Schon seems to have a blast laying down his scorching solos on, and Lukather comes out and wows the audience as the band launch into Bad Company's "Feel Like Making Love". Brian May also really shines here on a few cuts, especially "All Right Now", and you can just imagine that this show might have been where the spark between he and Rodgers might have started, prompting them to work together as Queen + Paul Rodgers a decade later. Rodgers does a great job on "Let Me Love You Baby", just about eclipsing the old Rod Stewart sung version, and his powerful vocal chops just mesmerize on "Travelling Man", "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl" and "Can't Get Enough".

Amazing guitar work, fantastic vocals, killer drum work from Bonham, great overall sound, and crisp, colorful visuals, all make up this highly enjoyable DVD from the folks at Eagle Rock. If you are a Paul Rodgers fan, or simply love the guitar work of Schon, Lukather, and May, you owe it to yourself to check this out.

Track Listing
01. Introduction by Paul Rodgers
02. Travelling Man
03. Wishing Well
04. Louisiana Blues
05. Fire and Water
06. Muddy Water Blues
07. Good Morning Little School Girl
08. I'm Ready
09. Little Bit of Love
10. Mr. Big
11. Feel Like Making Love
12. Let Me Love You Baby
13. Hunter
14. Can't Get Enough
15. All Right Now
16. Crossroads
17. Hoochie Coochie Man

Added: September 14th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 2141
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by