Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kotebel: Fragments of Light

Fragments Of Light is the third release by Spain's Kotebel. To say that this disc is symphonic would be the understatement of the year. Truth is, this disc is SYMPHONIC!.Made up of Omar Acosta (flute), Cesar Garcia Forero(guitars, bass, keyboards, percussion), Juan Olmos(vocals on "Fuego"),Carlos Plaza(keyboards, bass, drums), and Carolina Prieto( vocals except "Fuego"); Kotebel deliver some of the most poignant and inspired symphonic music this reviewer has heard in many moons.

Each track is presented as a sweeping movement where ethereal flute passages and grandiose piano create a musical canvas upon which the superb soprano vocals and delicate acoustic guitars paint a soothing aural picture. The band does not, however, limit itself to merely pastoral soundscapes.Tracks like the fantastic "Fuego" will take the listener through a myriad of moods with it's celestial movements interspersed with moments of frenzied bombast. This may be the signature piece on the disc as all elements of Kotebel's arsenal are put on display. Omar Acosta shows off a mastery of the flute, weaving all around the main musical line with fluidity and grace, while Carlos Plaza and Cesar Garcia Forero close the number out with a hauntingly beautiful guitar/keyboard exchange. Sectionning the disc into 3 equal parts is the "El Quimerista" trilogy which appears as tracks 3,6, and 9.Part one is a sublime classical guitar number while part two has the band squarely in a symph rock mode, with some tasty electric guitar excursions.Part three has Forero exploring more acoustic musical avenues over a spacey keyboard wash.The title track acts as a showpiece for the virtuoso soprano singing of Carolina Prieto. her soaring voice will raise the hackles on your neck and the hair on your arms. She truly is a talent! the disc ends with an 11:59 solo piano suite which invokes modern classical music movements and themes.

Fragments Of Light is a well crafted album which is sure to please fans who enjoy a heavy dose of modern symphonic music in their progressive rock diet. The musicianship is top-notch, making the musical journey very enjoyable.

Track Listing

  1. Hades (11:59)
  2. Indentidad Legal (3:40)
  3. El Quemerista I (2:36)
  4. Memoria (7:46)
  5. Fuego (14:54)
  6. El Quemerista II (5:10)
  7. Espejos (7:51)
  8. Trozos De Luz (3:11)
  9. El Quemerista III (2:21)
  1. Children Suite (11:59 ) :
  2. En el Parque
  3. La Siesta
  4. El papgayo
  5. Contemplando las estrellas
  6. El bachacalabo
  7. A traves del espejo
  8. Cuentos del bosque
  9. Fantasia

Added: January 26th 2004
Reviewer: Yves Dube
Related Link: Musea Records
Hits: 4149
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by