Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Weeping Silence: Theater of Life

Weeping Silence has been playing metal music since the mid-1990s. The band's debut album 'Deprived from Romance', helped launch their sound, which has been changing ever since. They have expanded into the doom, gothic and avant-garde genres.

The band has played festivals in Bradford, Manchester and Birmingham with a host of UK metal bands. They have also played several festivals and concerts, including the XMA, FEM Fest, Malta Doom Metal Fest and others.

Weeping Silence has an original sound within this genre, helped by Rachel Grech, on lead and backing vocals. The band also includes power sounds from Joseph Grech on lead male vocals; Manuel Spiteri, on guitar; Mario Ellul, on guitar; Sean Pollacco, on bass; Alison Ellul, on keyboards; and Angelo Zammit, on drums and percussion.

'Of Light and Shadow' kicks this album off with power from Rachel Grech's lead vocals, power guitar, bass, and drums. The keys help lighten the air to balance out the power bass and lead electric chords. This opener is an early album highlight as is the beautiful guitar work mixed with soft keys on 'Dark Waters'. Grech's lead female vocals really set this band apart from the many bands in this genre which sound similar. Her vocals are high soprano without being ear piercingly high. The keys and guitar work throughout the album complement Grech's female vocal performance and the lyrics have more depth than other bands within the genre.

Despite the darkness of the sound, the lyrics provide a light that shines through. 'Within White Walls' and the title track, 'Theatre of Life', are also standouts. They capture the power of the music without blasting it into your face and provide the listener a chance to ponder the lyrics and emotions of the music. 'Season's Journey' and 'Innocent Cries' are also excellent tracks. The musicianship, from excellent bass, lead guitar wonders, soothing and at times majestic keys, to precision percussion and drums, rises high throughout this album, making it one of the best released within this genre this year.

Track Listing:

1. 'Of Light and Shadow'
2. 'Dark Waters'
3. 'Within White Walls'
4. 'Theatre of Life'
5. 'Season's Journey'
6. 'Promises Broken'
7. 'Monuments'
8. 'Innocent Cries'

Added: September 4th 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: Weeping
Hits: 2642
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by