Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dio, Ronnie James: Mightier Than The Sword - The Ronnie James Dio Story

It is reassuring that in the sixteen months since the death of Ronnie James Dio the market has not been flooded with cheap compilations. The emphasis so far has firmly been on quality, firstly with the release of the Live at Donington set followed by Heaven and Hell's Neon Nights and now this two disc career spanning anthology. The compilers have secured tracks from Elf, Rainbow, Black Sabbath, Dio and Heaven & Hell to ensure every era of his remarkable legacy is duly represented. Detailed and personal sleeve notes by Malcolm Dome tell the story but it is the music that captivates right from the honky-tonk shuffle of Elf's "Carolina Country Ball" right through until Heaven & Hell's doom anthem that is "Bible Black".

A scan through the track list evidences all time classics from "Catch The Rainbow", "Heaven and Hell" and "Holy Diver" to less celebrated moments such as "The Temple of the King", "Country Girl" and "All The Fools Sailed Away" which are equally welcome. What all of the songs have in common of course is the voice that is rightfully regarded as the all time greatest in rock and metal history. Ronnie James Dio may no longer be with us but he leaves an enduring musical legacy for future generations to enjoy. Mightier Than The Sword is only part of the legend but serves as a wonderful reminder of an exceptional career. Long Live Rock and Roll...and long may Ronnie James Dio be remembered.

Track Listing
Disc 1:
01. Carolina County Ball (ELF)
02. Love Is All (RONNIE JAMES DIO)
03. The Temple Of The King (RAINBOW)
04. Catch The Rainbow (RAINBOW)
05. Stargazer (RAINBOW)
06. Run With The Wolf (RAINBOW)
07. Kill The King (RAINBOW)
08. Long Live Rock 'N' Roll (RAINBOW)
09. Lady Of The Lake (RAINBOW)
10. Gates Of Babylon (RAINBOW)
11. Die Young (BLACK SABBATH)
12. Heaven And Hell (BLACK SABBATH)
13. Children Of The Sea (BLACK SABBATH)
Disc 2:
01. The Mob Rules (BLACK SABBATH)
02. Voodoo (BLACK SABBATH)
03. Country Girl (BLACK SABBATH)
04. Holy Diver (DIO)
05. Rainbow In The Dark (DIO)
06. We Rock (DIO)
07. Rock 'N' Roll Children (DIO)
08. All The Fools Sailed Away (DIO)
10. Push (DIO)
11. One More For The Road (DIO)
12. Shadow Of The Wind (BLACK SABBATH)
13. Neon Knights (HEAVEN & HELL)
14. Bible Black (HEAVEN & HELL)

Added: September 4th 2011
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 2200
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by