Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Doro: 25 Years in Rock

To celebrate her 25 years as a rock/metal goddess, Doro has released a live DVD/CD set called 25 Years in Rock. We've only been sent the CD portion of the set, which we'll review here. It's a greatly condensed version, as the DVD has a wealth of songs and bonus material, but there are still some strong live tracks here. You can hear the crowd is really into it as Doro and her band rip into classics like "I Rule the Ruins", "Earth Shaker Rock", "You're My Family", and the poignant "Herzblut". "Unholy Love" rocks hard, as does the crunchy "East Meets West" (which features guests Chris Boltendahl & Axel Rudi Pell), and a real treat is the reunion of the classic Warlock line-up on the scorching "Burning the Witches". Thankfully, they left out the overplayed "All We Are", instead inserting a cover of the overplayed Judas Priest classic "Breaking the Law".

Sadly, this CD comes across as a huge tease for what is fully encased within the DVD, so chances are if you want your full fix of Doro live you'll have to go after that to get the full & complete celebration package.

Track Listing

  1. Earth Shaker Rock
  2. I Rule The Ruins
  3. You're My Family
  4. Herzblut
  5. Unholy Love
  6. East Meets West
  7. Burning The Witches
  8. Above The Ashes
  9. Celebrate Full Metal Female Version
  10. Breaking The Law

Added: January 23rd 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 2327
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Doro: 25 Years in Rock
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2012-01-23 13:56:40
My Score:

*******This is a review of the 3 Disc set of 25 Years in Rock********

Yes, that CD promo reviewed earlier of this celebratory live set from legendary vocalist Doro was certainly a teaser. Finally getting a hold of the official release, I can easily say that 25 Years in Rock is a must have for loyal fans, and even if you are just a casual listener of Doro, this is well worth getting your hands on.

Recorded in December of 2008, this night marked the 25th Anniversary of Doro in Metal, and in front of a huge audience in Germany and with plenty of friends to help celebrate, the 'queen of metal' put on a hell of a show. The camera work is stellar, the audio superb, and the performances are killer. You don't have to be a huge fan of Doro and her music to be touched by the emotion that was present throughout that evening-you can hear it in the music, see it in the eyes of the musicians and the fans. It was a magical evening, and Doro herself looked extremely humbled. Lots of friends came out to play & sing with Doro and the band, including Overkill's Bobby Blitz, Nevermore/Sanctuary vocalist Warrel Dane, Tarja, guitarist Axel Rudi Pell, Leaves' Eyes Liv Kristine, Floor Jansen, and many more, but the big surprise is seeing Rudolf Schenker & Klaus Meine from the Scorpions come out to join in on the fun during rousing renditions of "Big City Nights" and "Rock You Like a Hurricane". Another treat is seeing the classic Warlock line-up playing together again on "Fight For the Rock", "Burning the Witches", and "True as Steel". For the grand finale everyone comes out on the stage together for an emotional take on the staple "All We Are".

Over on DVD 2 you get some great bonus features, including a full documentary on the festivities (sadly, it's only in German so unless you speak the language it's kind of hard to follow along), a look at Doro's 2500th concert, portions of the sets from Wacken 2009, Bang Your Head 2010, Summer Breeze 2007, and Metal Female Voices Festival 2009. There's a nice tribute to Ronnie James Dio in the form of "Egypt (The Chains are On)" from the Bang Your Head Festival, and Savatage/Trans-Siberian Orchestra guitarist Chris Caffery is along for the fun on "You're My Family" from Summer Breeze in 2007.

In addition, you get with this set a companion CD with portions from the main DVD. It all amounts to a killer package of Doro for any serious metal head, and despite the fact that much of the bonus material is in German (my only real gripe here) this is a set that I can recommend quite easily.

Track Listing
1. Introduction
2. Earth Shaker Rock
3. I Rule The Ruins
4. You're My Family
5. Night Of The Warlock
6. Hellraiser
7. Always Live To Win feat. Bobby Blitz
8. Above The Ashes
9. She's Like Thunder
10. Herzblut
11. Fr Immer
12. Burn It Up feat. Jean Beauvoir & Rhein Fire Cheerleaders
13. Metal Tango
14. Drum Solo
15. Celebrate Full Metal Female Version
16. Love Me In Black feat. Rhein Fire Cheerleaders
17. Walking With The Angels feat. Tarja
18. East Meets West feat. Chris Boltendahl & Axel Rudi Pell
19. Breaking The Law
20. Big City Nights Doro & Scorpions
21. Rock You Like A Hurricane Doro & Scorpions
22. Fight For Rock Warlock Line-Up Of 1986
23. Burning The Witches Warlock Line-Up Of 1986
24. True As Steel Warlock Line-Up Of 1986 feat. Warrel Dane
25. Unholy Love feat. Honza Kirk Behunek
26. Fight
27. All We Are
28. Outroduction
29. 2500th Concert
30. China Special
31. Wacken Open Air 2009: I. I Rule The Ruins II. Burning The Witches III. Burn It Up
32. Bang Your Head 2010: I. Egypt [The Chains Are On] II. Running From The Devil
33. Summer Breeze 2007: Youre My Family feat. Chris Caffery
34. Metal Female Voices Fest 2009: I. True As Steel II. Hellbound III. We Are The Metalheads
35. TV Special: 2500th Concert
36. TV Special: A tattoo from Doro at Germany Ink

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by