Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Behemoth: Abyssus Abyssum Invocat

Now that Behemoth leader/guitarist/vocalist Nergal is seemingly recovering well after treatment for leukemia, the band is taking to the road (amazing when you think about how just a year ago he was gravely ill) and Metal Blade have released this exciting 2CD collection called Abyssus Abyssum Invocat. This set features two previous EPs from the band that are both currently out of print, Conjuration and Slaves Shall Serve, as well as expanded artwork and some bonus material. It's a mixture of studio material and live recordings, and a nice overall package while we wait for a new album from the band in the near future.

Some of the studio material is quite good, such as the monstrous "Conjuration Of Sleep Daemons", a full on technical death/black metal corker, complete with rampaging riffs and a scorching guitar solo. "Slaves Shall Serve", "Penetration", and "Enterping the Pylon of Light" are perfect examples of crushing death metal, with Nergal spewing plenty of growling hatred over furious riffs and punishing blast beats, while "Until You Call on the Dark" slows things down for a more doomy vibe, sounding a tad like Celtic Frost. Behemoth go for an almost punk style on the speedy rippers "Wish" and "Welcome to Hell", adding a new dimension to their death metal attack.

The live material is fantastic as you would expect, with some of the highlights being "Christians to the Lions", "Demigod", "As Above So Below", "Decade of Therion", and " From The Pagan Vastlands ". Behemoth are a 'live' band after all, and if you've seen them in concert, you know that on the stage they are at their best. So, these live cuts are killer, and add greatly to this collection.

All in all, a scorching bunch of tidbits for Behemoth fans young and old!

Track Listing
CD disc 1 - "Conjuration"
1. Conjuration Of Sleep Daemons
2. Wish
3. Welcome To Hell
4. Christians To The Lions (Live)
5. Decade Of Therion (Live)
6. From The Pagan Vastlands (Live)
7. Antichristian Phenomenon (Live)
8. Lam (Live)
9. Satan's Sword (I have become) (Live)
10. Chant For Eskaton 2000 (Live)

CD disc 2 - "Slaves Shall Serve"
1. Slaves Shall Serve
2. Entering The Pylon Of Light
3. Penetration
4. Until You Call On The Dark
5. Demigod (Live)
6. Slaves Shall Serve (Live)
7. Lam (Live)
8. As Above So Below (Live)

Added: September 3rd 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2160
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by