Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Quorum: Klubkin's Voyage

Another Russian prog band from the MALS stables a band that takes a Neo prog approach but also courts elements of the classic prog sound too. Quorum's Klubkin's Voyage is a conceptual piece that is based on the miss hearing of a TV programme title from their childhood, a scientific TV show called Klub Kinoputeshestviy.

The artwork leaves you under no illusions as to what is holed up on the album, fantastic stories of journey's that are all sung in their native tongue which adds to the atmosphere and mysticism of the journey.

Musical complexity is the order of the day as Klubkin's Voyage is an album is full of little intricacies and ideas that just work on so many levels being backed by jazz, Latin and Spanish influences which are rather fitting for the concept too. Throughout the whole album the use of the keyboards and guitars is dominant which has been aligned with some very tight rhythmic sections with the listener being gifted not only by high quality musicianship but layer upon layer of melodies.

"Klubkin's Voyage Part 1", "Books and Dreams", "Non-Accidental Meeting" and "World is Mocking at an Innocence" absolutely nail what this band are about, being some of the memorable highlights of the album as there are many scattered throughout. Quite cleverly too they have left the whole concept open with the beautiful "Voyage Goes On".

The band has been influenced by the likes of Genesis, Kansas, Styx, Rush and Camel, influences that you can hear within their song structures which creates a very powerful album. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves consistent adventurous melodic prog as this is an album that is full of it.

Track Listing:
1 Overture
2 Klubkin's Voyage Part 1
3 Books and Dreams
4 Beginning
5 Geographic Community
6 Insanity
7 Confusion
8 Non-Accidental Meeting
9 Decision
10 Klubkin's Voyage Part 2
11 My Land Where are You?
12 Discovery
13 World is Mocking at an Innocence
14 So Tired
15 Klubkin's Voyage Part 3
16 Voyage Goes On

Added: August 31st 2011
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 4649
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by