Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Epigene: A Wall Street Odyssey

Sean Bigler, writer, producer, lead vocals, and Bonnie Lykes, lead and harmony vocals, vocoder and keyboards, from Boiceville, New York, have put together a masterpiece of modern life contrasts. This epic journey takes the listener from the top of America's financial world to the communal farm and then back again. Helping this husband and wife duo with additional instrumentation on this album are: Jeff Gretz, on drums; Chris Coletti, on trumpet; David Nelson, on trombone; Jeff Nichols, on saxophone; Heather Partis, on vocoder; Armand Partis, spoken word on 'The Farmer's Diary'.

The CD package includes a booklet with artwork created by Tom Swanson. Bonnie Lykes and Sean Bigler did the crayon coloring.

"The album tells the story of a character named Yossarian, who works on Wall Street, falls from grace, gets "reborn" and decides he needs to save the future of mankind. Throughout the two CDs the listener can follow his journey by reading the story in the book included in the set", 2011.

This is an epic production covering the life of an individual, which could easily be any of us, from different locations and fields of interest, set to changing and multi dimensional music. You can find everything from alternative, new wave, pop, jazz tones, progressive and other rock throughout this epic. Never a dull moment, and if you follow along with the story in the book, as you listen to the music, you will have that much more fun enjoying the piece.

For me the best part was the music from "The Country" section of the album, especially, 'The Settlement of Love', 'The Farmer's Diary', 'Nature Spirits', 'My Jewel in the Sun', and 'Sanctuary' are favorites. I also enjoyed, 'Stranger in a Strange Land', 'Colonization & Globalization', and the closer, 'To Each His Own'.

The album is something that needs time to be fully appreciated, but can be listened to in sections at different times of the day, or during different moods.

A real nice surprise from a band I had never heard of before this review. This is very engaging music with a storyline ripped from the pages of current events. I'll be looking forward to this band's next album with anticipation!

Track Listing:

CD 1

Part 1 'The City'

1. Looks Like I Made It
2. Money Master
3. The Catch 22
4. Take My Head Off
5. Rabbit Hole
6. Losing Everything
7. I Eat the Concrete

Part II 'The Country'

8. Brother Take My Hand
9. The Settlement of Love
10. In A Circle
11. The Farmer's Diary
12. Nature Spirits
13. The Serpent Mound
14. My Jewel in the Sun
15. Sanctuary
16. I'm Gonna Save the World

CD 2

Part III 'Back Again'

1.Stranger in a Strange Land
2.Colonization & Globalization
3.The Warning
4.Back in the Country
5. The Warning (Reprise)
6. Isis Conspiracist
7. The Sky is falling
8. Run!!!
9. To Each His Own

Added: August 21st 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: Epigene
Hits: 2486
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by