Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

FireWolfe: FireWolfe

Let's get one thing straight right up front. If you like traditional metal in the style of Dio, Judas Priest or Leatherwolf, then you need to grab yourself a copy of the self titled debut release from FireWolfe. It really is that simple and I've no qualms in telling you that this is the best pure metal album I've heard - especially from a new act - in a serious length of time.

The brainchild of guitarists Paul Kleff and Nick Layton - who between them have mustered a solo album each, FireWolfe are a guitar heavy beast, intent on ripping your head off with razor sharp riffs and mighty solos. However more importantly, they've written some bristling, menacing and memorable songs which are embellished rather than dominated by the immense guitar work. Adding some thump to the roar are bassist Zack Uidl and Hurricane, Asia, GPS and Unruly Child drummer Jay Schellen, who together make for a completely enthralling and brutal rhythm section. The real masterstroke however is the inclusion of singer David Fefolt, whose rasping howl is just perfect, jostling against the muscular riffs, with the Angel Of Babylon, Valhalla and Masi frontman turning in the sort of confident, commanding performance that most metal singers can only dream of.

With a sound that is reminiscent of some of the classic British metal acts of the 80's, FireWolfe add a more US twist to their sound, resulting in an album that sizzles with energy, but still provides choruses that burrow into your head and refuse to let go. A quick blast through "Air Attack", "FireWolfe" and "Armed Forces", are enough to have you totally hooked, making you howl along, while cavorting through the house, air-guitar blazing wildly! If however you are seeking something a little more sophisticated, then look no further than the staccato riffed "Back From The Hell", or the atmospheric instrumental "Ice Wizard". That said though, it really is with the rip-roaring, up and at 'em shout of "Feel The Thunder" where FireWolfe really shine.

As debut albums go FireWolfe is a serious statement of intent and one which stands up against repeated listens, actually gaining intensity the more familiar the songs become.

So what's left to say? Get yourself over to the FireWolfe website and buy it. That's what!!!!

Track Listing
1. Air Attack
2. Unholy
3. FireWolfe
4. Armed Forces
5. Back From Hell
6. Wicked Words
7. Ice Wizard
8. Tempter
9. M.O.D.
10. Feel The Thunder

Added: August 20th 2011
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Firewolfe Website
Hits: 2715
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by