Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Batt, Mike: The Hunting of the Snark

"Mike Batt is one of Britain's best-known songwriter/composers. He composed and produced such works as 'Watership Down' (music and lyrics to Art Garfunkel's international number one single, 'Bright Eyes'), 'Phantom of The Opera' (producing, orchestrating and contributing lyrics to the first hit) and a great deal of symphonic work, including many television and film scores. He has won five Ivor Novello Awards including 'Best Film Song or Music' two years in succession, once with 'Watership Down' and once with 'Caravans' the epic adaptation of Michener's novel, starring Anthony Quinn" (, 2011).

Mike Batt uses this production, originally recorded in 1984, to bring to life Lewis Carroll's famous 'The Hunting of the Snark (An Agony in 8 Fits)' poem from 1874. Batt enlists the help of such legendary singers as Roger Daltrey as the Barrister; Art Garfunkel as the Butcher; Julian Lennon as the Baker; Cliff Richard as the Bellman; Mike Batt as the Boots; Captain Sensible as the Billiard Marker; and Deniece Williams as the Beaver. The presentation is narrated by Sir John Gielgud and John Hurt. The London Symphony Orchestra is in attendance and the production work is at the highest.

If you need a respite from all of the turmoil in the world, this is a great distraction full of famous and wonderful performances. The story itself follows Carroll's nonsensical formula, with lyrics and music written by Mike Blatt.

With all the talent involved in this project it is a must re-issue if you missed it the first chance.

Track Listing:

1. Introduction
2. Children Of The Sky (lead vocal: Mike Batt)
3. The Bellman' s Speech (lead vocal - Cliff Richard)
4. The Escapade (lead vocals: Deniece Williams, Julian Lennon, Art Garfunkel, Cliff Richard
5. Midnight Smoke (lead vocal: Julian Lennon)
6. The Snooker Song (lead vocal: Captain Sensible)
7. The Pig Must Die (lead vocal: Roger Daltrey)
8. The Beaver' s Lesson (lead vocals: Art Garfunkel, Deniece Williams)
9. A Delicate Combination (lead vocals: Art Garfunkel, Deniece Williams)
10. As Long As The Moon Can Shine (lead vocal: Deniece Williams)
11. Dancing Towards Disaster (lead vocal: Deniece Williams)
12. The Vanishing (lead vocals: Julian Lennon, Mike Batt, Maggie Reilly)

Added: August 17th 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: The Hunting of the Snark
Hits: 1446
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by