Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Satoko Fujii Orchestra New York: Eto

Japanese pianist Satoko Fujii has been one of the most active jazz musicians over the last decade, performing in a wide assortment of small combos as well as numerous international big bands around the globe. Eto is the newest release of her large scale band from New York, and features 17 exciting tracks of sizzling avant-garde styled jazz that includes 15 musicians on such instruments as piano, sax, trumpet, trombone, bass, and drums.

After the opening 9 minute jazz workout "The North Wind and the Sun", which could have easily come off of one of Frank Zappa's early 70's big band fusion releases, the group launches into the mammoth "Eto Suite", which is comprised of 14 tracks, and takes up much of the album. From gentle jazz, to moments of bizarre avant-garde, as well as frightening free-jazz, this piece has it all, with sax, trumpet, trombone, and piano lines flying about the mix, sometimes at random, and others quite melodic and tranquil. One of the most exciting pieces here, which comes at the back end of the CD, is the roaring "Pressure Cooker", an upbeat monster of dramatic jazz, with soaring sax & horn melodies, crashing drums, and loads of sizzle. Closing out with the stunning "Stroll" ends Eto on a high note, as the tune kicks off with bombast then slowly fades out with sultry sax and horn crescendos to wrap things up in classy fashion.

The Satoko Fujii Orchestra New York really brought their 'A' game here on Eto, and it's great that Fujii let the entire band strut their stuff here and put in a great ensemble performance. Good stuff indeed.

Track Listing

  1. The North Wind And The Sun;
  2. Eto Suite: Overture;
  3. Rat;
  4. Ox;
  5. Tiger;
  6. Hare;
  7. Dragon;
  8. Snake;
  9. Horse;
  10. Ram;
  11. Monkey;
  12. Rooster;
  13. Dog;
  14. Boar;
  15. Epilogue;
  16. Pressure Cooker;
  17. Stroll

Added: August 16th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 2057
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by