Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Moor, The: Warm Winter

Warm Winter is a track which constitutes the first single off The Moor's forthcoming eponymous debut album; the track also appears on the 7'' vinyl release Warm Winter, which also features the track 'You'll See'.

'Warm Winter' is a very aptly titled track, because the mood that the track evokes is one of pleasant warmth, but, at the same time, there is a touch of wintery melancholia to the tune. The song is rich in texture and the overall sound is characterized by a certain lushness due to its layers of sound and instrumentation. Erica Daking's vocals are very soft and soothing as is the entire song, actually and definitely add a further dose of pleasantness to this track. In a sense there is a certain post-rock sensibility to 'Warm Winter', but it lacks the bleakness which otherwise seems to be typical of a lot of post rock these days, and I kind of appreciate that, because it makes the tune incredibly easy and pleasant to listen to and sometimes I need music with just that quality.

In addition to 'Warm Winter', I also sneaked a peak on 'You'll See' from the Warm Winter 7'' vinyl, and two tracks called 'Mean Mean Mean' and 'Lovers and Friends' all of which are available for streaming via the band's website, and they all exude the same warmth and pleasantness, and there are lush passages in all of them. What is nice is that, although similar in terms of mood and atmosphere, all four tracks are quite different from each other, which makes for good variation (especially 'Lovers and Friends' is a brilliant track with an overall folksy feel to it and a very interesting musical texture).

If 'Warm Winter' and the three other tracks mentioned above are any indicator of what The Moor is going to sound like, then you can expect the album to be a warm, but melancholic, and lush affair with soothing qualities and an overall pleasant listening experience; I am sure that it would be a perfect soundtrack for a romantic warm autumn eve.

Track Listing - The Moor:
1. Warm Winter
2. Mean Mean Mean
3. Just You
4. Lovers and Friends
5. You'll See
6. Now That I'm Gone
7. Louise
8. Mercury

Track Listing - Warm Winter 7'':
1. Warm Winter
2. You'll See

Added: August 8th 2011
Reviewer: Kim Jensen
Related Link: The Moor official website
Hits: 1736
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by