Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

A Fucking Elephant/ El Drugstore: Split EP

A split EP, one of the modern day miracles, two bands with not too much capital to relase an EP or CD on their own or may be willing to share costs with another band trying to step into the world of musical fame, and of course the need of a label to do it. This time the Label is Nefarious.

A Fucking Elephant, what's in a name right? My imagination left me completely blank where to put these guys. After listening to the EP I am still slightly confused I must say. Is it Metal? Post rock? Rubbish? Nah that it isn't, but difficult to place, yes.

The rhythmic nature of the songs changes so quickly at times that I could even consider it to be Progressive Post-Rock. Is that a new term? However the long spunout notes and melody lines, the infamous characteristic of a post-rock song is missing. What we are served with are crazy bass lines, drum rhythms with the guitar itself in a supportive role I would say.

The Elephant is taking care of the first five track on this Split EP. The titles of the songs are as superb as the bandname. Lots of distortion and fuzzy feedback on the guitar side. I give up, I can't find a real genre for this musical extravaganza by the Fucking Elephant, so I'll leave it up to you.

El Drugstore's moment of fame kicks in with the sixth track on this split EP. The Drugstore left me even more dazzled, there's actually two bands in this scene, what happened what did I miss. An absolute abundance of bass lines with the drugstores, changes in rhythm and odd drum patterns, How can you keep in line, amazing really amazing how these two rhythm section both of A Fucking Elephant and El Drugstore manage to actually do so.

Again guitars are heavily distorted here, a little less fuzzy then the first half of the EP. Once more you get humorous titles such as "Shit Eating Dog Kisses", or "Schnurrbart", which is German for Moustache.

I am truly amazed by these wonders of rhythm on an almost instrumental EP. Keep it up !

Track listing:
1 Blue Crab Fantastic (3:37)
2 Football With Ukranians (4:30)
3 Furious E. (4:52)
4 Just The Trip (3:28)
5 Holla! NO Babies (7:08)
6 Those Arm rests Are Fire (5:47)
7 Schnurrbart (2:09)
8 Shit Eating Dog Kisses (3:04)
9 Slamcart (8:47)

Added: July 31st 2011
Reviewer: Gert Hulshof
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 4264
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by