Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pro-Pain: 20 Years of Hardcore

Twenty years in and Pro-Pain have chosen to celebrate their career with a very generous release that features four new tracks, four re-recordings of classic tracks, a cover of German rockers Böhse Onkelz's 'Keine Amnestie Für MTV' (No Amnesty For MTV), fourteen live tracks, and a 25-track DVD of live material, fan-filmed footage, rare footage, and a promo video. A lot to swallow, yes, but what better reminder of one of hardcore's pioneers? The new tracks are pure Pro-Pain, slow chugging and heavy riffs, Meskil's trademark brutal growls, and hammer-smashed drums. The re-recorded versions of Pro-Pain classics bring new life to the already devastating tracks, the presence of Mike Hanzel on drums and guitarist Rob Moschetti on 'Denial' and 'Shine' making them the best of the bunch. Live tracks are usually hit-and-miss and this is no exception but it's much more hit than miss. What is clear, however, is that the band was on fire for this performance. (Without access to the DVD material, I'm unable to comment) As far as thanks to audiences go, this will spoil Pro-Pain fans immeasurably, and for those that are wondering what the twenty year fuss has been all about, this is the best introduction that anyone could ask for.

Track Listing: CD: New and Re-recorded Tracks

  1. Damnation
  2. Hands In The Jar
  3. Someday Bloody Someday
  4. True Liberation
  5. Foul Taste Of Freedom 2011
  6. Make War (Not Love) 2011
  7. Denial 2011
  8. Shine 2011
  9. Keine Amnestie für MTV Live In Brno (CZ)
  10. Unrestrained
  11. Three Minutes Hate
  12. Can You Feel It
  13. UnAmerican
  14. Neocon
  15. No Way Out
  16. Fuck It
  17. Draw Blood
  18. The Shape Of Things To Come
  19. In For The Kill
  20. Let The Blood Run Through The Streets
  21. Foul Taste Of Freedom
  22. All For King George
  23. Destroy The Enemy

Beograd Concert – SKC 1998:

  1. Shine
  2. Make War (Not Love)
  3. State Of Mind
  4. The Stench Of Piss
  5. Life's Hard
  6. Get Real
  7. Time
  8. Foul Taste Of Freedom
  9. Crush
  10. Box City
  11. Blood Red
  12. Bad Blood
Live at With Full Force:
  1. Casualties Of War – 2002
  2. UnAmerican – 2005
  3. Fuck It – 2007
Live At Lausitzring 2005:
  1. Neocon
  2. One World Ain't Enough
  3. Left For Dead
  4. Life's Hard
  5. Get Real
Fan Filmed Footage:
  1. Iraqnophobia 1993
  2. Johnny Black 1996
  3. Act Of God 1999
  4. Smokin' Gun 1999
  5. Implode 2005
  • Rare Clips From The Vault: A montage of old rare footage
  • Official Promo Video: "Down For The Cause"

Added: July 30th 2011
Reviewer: Jason Guest
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2333
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by