Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jasta: Jasta

Most metal & hardcore fans are well familiar with the name Jamey Jasta, who happens to be the lead singer of the popular band Hatebreed. Here he is on his first solo album, simply titled Jasta. Much of what you'll hear on Jasta doesn't stray too far from the Hatebreed formula, though it's a bit more melodic in an All That Remains sort of way, with clean choruses mixed in between the brutal hardcore shouts and pummeling riffage. Look for plenty of massive breakdowns, though thankfully Jamey doesn't overfill the arrangements with them like so many other bands do these days. Surprisingly, despite the fact that much of this CD is quite heavy & extreme, it's very catchy in spots, with tunes such as "Anthem Of The Freedom Fighter", "Walk That Path Alone", "Nothing They Say", and "Something You Should Know" (featuring a guest appearance by Phil Labonte of All That Remains) very memorable and with hooks to match their pummeling nature. Phil's not the only guest star, as members of Lamb of God, As I Lay Dying, and Zakk Wylde himself put in guest appearances as well.

Jamey Jasta's first solo record is not going to win any awards for originality, but damn if this isn't catchy & crushing metalcore that's a hell of a lot more fun that much of what you'll hear out there, and honestly, it's more memorable than the last few Hatebreed releases. His extreme vocals are what you'd expect, but for these ears, his clean vocals are what makes this a step above the tried and true Hatebreed formula.

Track Listing
01 Walk That Path Alone
02 Mourn The Illusion
03 Screams From The Sanctuary
04 Nothing They Say
05 Anthem Of The Freedom Fighter
06 Something You Should Know (Ft. Phil Labonte of All That Remains)
07 Set Your Adrift
08 Enslaved, Dead or Depraved (Ft. Randy Blythe of Lamb of God)
09 With A Resounding Voice (Ft. Tim Lambesis of As I Lay Dying)
10 The Fearless Must Endure (Ft. Zakk Wylde of Black Label Society)
11 Heart Of A Warrior (Ft. Mike Vallely)
12 Death Bestowed (Ft. Mark Morton of Lamb Of God)

Added: July 26th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 1547
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by