Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dreyer; Jake: In The Shadows Of Madness

The opening song on this three track debut EP from Jake Dreyer is a prime example of how interesting and innovative guitar instrumental work really can be, with the beautiful poise and restraint shown making for an emotional and moving piece of music. After that opening number, Dreyer decides to stylistically turn things on its head by journeying down the fretboard wankathon route with blistering technique and dexterity replacing the earlier grace.

The three songs on show here, "Beyond The Tranquil", "Harmony Of Spheres" and "Drawing Of The Three" leave absolutely no doubt why this young six string slinger has already won numerous awards for his guitar prowess. However for those who get a chill at the mere mention of Yngwie J Malmsteen and his ilk, then probably safer to go and cowl in the corner rather than sit through the face melting barrage of notes that form the last two tracks presented.

Not that this is all bluster over substance, as buried beneath the flurrying notes and blurts of bombast are some pretty gargantuan riffs and the odd hint of melody. It won't be enough to salvage this release for those adverse to this style, however stick with it and there's no denying that Dreyer has the smarts and talent to create some mightily themed music that veers from speed to power metal and back again at a blurring rate of knots. Interestingly during closing track "Drawing Of The Three" it is almost as if Dreyer realises that something of a different pace and feel is required to make the note-fests really hit their spot, although while it is stunningly well played, I'm not completely convinced that adding an atmospheric acoustic passage in the middle that almost veers into Gyspy Kings territory quite hits the intended mark. What it does hint at though, is that Jake Dreyer is an amazingly talented musician who does realise that boxing himself into the 100 notes a minute crew may well mark him out as a niche artist.

Whilst I'm not exactly blown away by In The Shadows Of Madness, I can't help but be curious as to whether Dreyer can blend the emotion shown on track one with the frantic explosions featured in the other two. If he can, then the results could well be pretty stunning.

Track Listing
1. Beyond The Tranquil Decent
2. Harmony Of The Spheres
3. Drawing Of The Three

Added: July 26th 2011
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Jake Dreyer's Official Site
Hits: 2123
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by