Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Wormrot: Dirge

Wormrot are Singapore's most well-known grindcore act, and their music has been raping people's ears since their formation back in 2007. Dirge, the band's most recent effort for prestigious metal label Earache Records, is an album that will completely annihilate your ears with fast blastbeats, thick riffs, and frantic vocals. This isn't an album for the faint of heart, but anyone searching for music so inaccessible that it initially seems like just a massive wall of "noise" will definitely want to check out Dirge. What the album lacks in originality it makes up for with sheer energy, and Wormrot should not go unnoticed by grindcore fans.

Dirge sounds like it came straight from the garage of angry teenagers - the album's hardcore punk attitude and relentless grindcore atmosphere make this album absolutely just reek with anger and frustration. Song titles like "No One Gives a Shit", "Semiconcious Godsize Dumbass", and "You Suffer But Why Is It My Problem" (I love the Napalm Death reference there) confirm this statement even more definitely. This album isn't easy listening by any stretch, and instead is 18 minutes (yes, you read that correctly) of some of the most brutal grindcore/hardcore punk on the planet. Stretched out over the course of 25 songs, ranging from 4 seconds to around a minute-and-a-half, none of the tracks here are substantially more than short bursts of anger. The music does lack a bit of variation, but for such a short playing time, it never becomes problematic. This isn't the type of music that is meant to be analytically listened to while sitting - this is meant to be experienced live, with mosh pits and the entire ordeal. I can only imagine what a Wormrot concert would be like! The raw, unpolished production further emphasizes Dirge's energetic atmosphere.

All in all, Dirge is a fairly impressive effort from Wormrot with enough adrenaline to shock even the biggest grindcore fans! I can't say that the band is terribly original, and they could still benefit from stronger compositions, but this still currently stands as a very strong effort. Anyone who likes their grindcore with a heavy dose of hardcore punk should find plenty to love here! Wormrot still have some room for improvement, but Dirge is still a very solid effort. 3 stars are deserved here.

Track Listing:
1. No One Gives a Shit (0:43)
2. Compulsive Disposition (1:03)
3. All Go No Emo (0:25)
4. Public Display of Infection (1:01)
5. Overpowered Violence (0:40)
6. Semiconcious Godsize Dumbass (0:32)
7. Spot a Pathetic (0:38)
8. Evolved Into Nothing (0:43)
9. Butt Krieg is Showing (0:50)
10. Fucking Fierce So What (0:05)
11. Ferocious Bombardment (0:35)
12. Principle Of The Puppet Warfare (1:03)
13. Deceased Occupation (1:26)
14. Waste of Time (0:42)
15. Stench of Ignorance (0:29)
16. Meteor to the Face (0:39)
17. Addicts of Misery (0:37)
18. You Suffer But Why Is It My Problem (0:04)
19. Erased Existence (0:45)
20. Back Stabber Mission Aborted (0:42)
21. Destruct the Bastards (0:11)
22. Plunged Into Illusions (0:34)
23. Manipulation (1:01)
24. A Dead Issue (1:07)
25. The Final Insult (1:49)

Added: July 22nd 2011
Reviewer: Jeff B
Related Link: Wormrot Myspace
Hits: 2176
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by