Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Reuter, Travis: Rotational Templates

"Guitarist and composer Travis Reuter's debut recording takes the jazz guitar quintet into unchartered territory. Inspired by the music of classical modernists like Elliott Carter and new complexity adherents like Jason Eckardt, Reuter has fused his propulsive approach to rhythm, melodic angularity, and formal experimentation into a style that reflects a new genre developing at the intersection of contemporary music and avant-garde jazz (, 2011).

This album features Travis Reuter on guitar; Jeremy Viner on tenor saxophone; Bobby Avey on Fender Rhodes; Chris Tordini on bass and Jason Nazary on drums.

Very interesting and original work of jazz, mixing great sax work with some excellent guitar experimenting. Solid and entertaining jazz that keeps you involved and interested with all of its many varieties of melodies and rhythm. The Fender Rhodes work and the way it blends so well with the guitar play will also set this album apart from the rest of your contemporary jazz collection.

Soft intricate drums, sax and bass open 'Vacancy at 29', as cool high pitched guitar chords pierce the background noise. Then Travis adds on more cool experimental guitar effects as the rhythm changes and the music gets louder. The cool guitar work weaves and ducks as the sax, bass and drums take a back seat later as the music progresses and the pace picks up.

Slow grooved bass and lead electric as 'Residency at 20 (Part 1)' opens amidst sax and drums.

'Singular Arrays' opens with more interesting sax and bouncy drums, bass and intricate guitar chording all set to a good beat. The Fender Rhodes and bass work stand out on this track.

'Flux Derivatives' is full of more great sax, bass, and that wonderful Fender Rhodes delivering rhythm and spirit as Travis weaves his guitar play through the sound. The soft tapping drums keep a good beat.

The sax takes the lead on 'Residency at 20 (Part 2)', as the bass, Rhoades and lead electric weave their intricate melody.

Track Listing
1. Vacancy at 29
2. Residency at 20 (part 1)
3. Singular Arrays
4. Flux Derivatives
5. Residency at 20 (part 2)

Added: August 30th 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 2083
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by