Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Travellers: A Journey into the Sun Within

Travellers is Wojtek Szadkowski's, (Collage, Satellite, and Strawberry Fields), latest project made up of 'Robin', Marta Kniewska on vocals, (lead singer from Strawberry Fields); Grzegorz "sencha atta" Leczkowski on guitars; Krzysiek Palczewski, (Satellite), on bass; and Wojtek Szadkowski on keys and drums. Wojtek Szadkowski says of the album and project, "It's a mixture of prog, ethnic music, the 80's, a large dose of magic and space, all of this crowned with Robin's beautiful voice".

This is a wonderful album full of beautiful vocals from Robin. Wojtek Szadkowski has created another incredible side project with Kniewska here and together they write some beautiful songs. Szadkowski's drums lead many of the songs and help lift them higher. As a Satellite and Collage fan, what I would like to hear them explore on their next project together is Robin singing a duet with Robert Amirian of Satellite/Collage. Until then, or the next Satellite/Collage album, this journey will keep the fans busy enjoying all the new sounds captured within.

'Magic', the epic 11 minute opener, with its wonderful dreamy keys and heavy bass before the lead electric joins in on the fun, will capture your imagination and take you away from your everyday concerns. The keys throughout this track are wonderful and take me right back to some of the best music from Collage and Satellite. Robin's voice is beautiful, "You believe in love. When you're not alone. Don't deny it. When it's late at night. A tender lullaby takes you higher". This opens as a tender lullaby then rocks your socks off once Szadkowski's drums kick in and the lead guitar solos and excellent heavy bass contours rev up later. Szadkowski's drums are tribal at times, and the interweaving layers of music, including acoustic guitar, make this one of the best tracks on the album.

More great keys open 'Letters to God' before Robin's vocals, "Whenever I write letters to God, I hope he'll have a chance to answer". Szadkowski's drums break through to add power and bounce off Robin's high notes. "So I believe in letters to God, an inner thrill to take me higher". Then the crushing drums mixed well with bass and power electric guitar chords drifting in and out of the soundscape perfectly adding their intricate sound to the piece. Original music delivered with emotion from Robin's voice and power from the lead guitar, bass and drums.

'Dreaming' opens with Szadkowski's drums, cool lead guitar chords and Robin's beautiful voice, "I don't want to be sure. I just want to be surprised. Make believe in unseen. Watching TV late at night". When you read recent interviews and find out that many of the lyrics were written 'on the fly', in the studio without being planned you can tell that Kniewska and Szadkowski are going to be a great songwriting team well into the future. This is the closest thing to a single on the album, and it is a strong track that will help promote the album well.

Beautiful piano keys open 'I Dream Softly' with some cool lead electric guitar buzzing in the background. Then Robin, "I dream softly and the piper cries little tune to butterflies". There is an ethnic almost folk feel to the song, and Szadkowski's drums and the guitar really rock this song higher as the power builds later. The keyboards are excellent.

'I See the Light' opens with more of those cool keys and effects blended well with bass and lead electric guitar. Robin sings, "I feel a shiver running now through all my veins, like a quake I don't expect, but foreseen so long ago". The 'round and round' vocals and effects of the music will have your head spinning as well.

'The Sun' opens with soft drums and lead electric guitar piercing the soundscape. Then Robin, "When the sun makes me happy. When my hair's like a sail. Catching blowing sunbeam whispers to complete my journey home". These lyrics and vocals truly capture the magic and power this album provides in its melodies and uplifting ability. The guitar chords and riffs that follow make this epic rise high, before Robin's vocals and an almost clapping sound makes this epic bounce with an inner joy.

Track Listing
1. Magic (11:09)
2. Letters To God (8:35)
3. Dreaming (4:59)
4. I Dream Softly (7:25)
5. I See The Light (8:05)
6. The Sun (12:30)

Added: July 9th 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2445
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by