Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Doobie Brothers, The: Live at the Greek 1982 (DVD)

This is the companion DVD to the Eagle Rock CD release of Live at the Greek Theater 1982, the culmination of the 'farewell tour' of The Doobie Brothers that actually after a few years turned out to be not so 'farewell' after all. At the time though the band was completely burnt out and needed a break from each other, and the last show of the tour in Berkeley, California is documented quite nicely here on this fun filled DVD. While the CD left out a few tunes from the show due to time restrictions, this DVD has what looks like the complete show-the original VHS release portion and five bonus tracks which probably now make up the entire set.

The band look like they are having a great time on stage, and it was no doubt bittersweet for most of them seeing as it was supposed to be the end of the band. History shows that this was not to be the case, as the band got back together later in the decade and still are performing and recording to this day. All the hits are here, played splendidly, with "Long Train Runnin' ", "Jesus is Just Alright", "China Grove", "Black Water", "Listen to the Music", "Sweet Maxine", and "Rockin' Down the Highway" being some of the many highlights. Watching Patrick Simmons, John McFee, and Tom Johnston doing the 3 guitar army thing late in the set is quite the scene and worth the price of admission alone.

It's pretty obvious watching this show just how far apart the early material is from the Michael McDonald era songs. In fact, most of the bonus songs are from the later era when the band took on a more R&B/pop/soul/jazz vibe, and moved away from their high-octane biker rock of the early years. With the exception of "What a Fool Believes", "Takin' It to the Streets", and "Minute By Minute", there's probably no doubt that most fans prefer the earlier, more rocking output from the band. Either way, you get a lot of both worlds on this killer DVD. Video and audio quality is decent considering the footage is nearly 30 years old.

Additional bonus material includes interviews with the band done before and after the concert, so you get a real feel for just where their heads and hearts were at the day of the show. It all adds up to another great release from the folks at Eagle Rock.

Track Listing
1) Listen To The Music
2) Sweet Maxine
3) Rockin' Down The Highway
4) You Belong To Me
5) Take Me In Your Arms (Rock Me)
6) Long Train Runnin'
7) Black Water
8) Minute By Minute
9) Slat Key Soquel Rag
10) I Keep Forgettin'
11) Out On The Streets
12) What A Fool Believes
13) Jesus Is Just Alright
14) Takin' It To The Streets
15) China Grove
16) Listen To The Music
17) Little Darling (I Need You)
18) One Step Closer
19) Dependin' On You
20) Real Love
21) No Stoppin' Us Now

Added: July 6th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 1862
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by