Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Doobie Brothers, The: Live at the Greek Theater 1982

Originally intended to be the band's 'Farewell Tour', The Doobie Brothers took to the road in 1982 and filmed & recorded this scorching set at Berkeley, California's legendary Greek Theater. This is the 19 song CD version of the film, which features the then line-up of Pat Simmons (guitar, vocals), Michael McDonald (keyboards, vocals), Keith Knudson (drums), John McFee (guitars, violin, harmonica), Cornelius Bumpus (sax, flute, keyboards), Chet McCracken (drums, percussion), Willie Weeks (bass), and Bob LaKind (conga), who are also joined by original members Tom Johnston, John Hartman, Tiran Porter, and Michael Hossack for a few numbers.

Expect all the big hits here, including "Listen to the Music", "China Grove", "Rockin' Down the Highway", "Long Train Runnin' ", "Black Water", "Minute By Minute", "What a Fool Believes", "Takin' It to the Streets", "Jesus is Just Alright" and many more, all played splendidly with classy vocals, sizzling guitar licks, catchy rhythms, and just the right amount of keyboards. Simmons & McFee are a formidable guitar team, and when Johnston joins them, look out for a killer 3 axe attack. Thankfully, there's a great mix of the older rock based material and the McDonald era R&B/jazz styled output. "You Belong to Me", "Real Love", and "Little Darling" are real solid radio friendly pop tunes, though for some lack the fire of the early Doobie Brothers classics. Still, they are played to perfection here by the band, and fit the set just fine. It's great to hear deep album cuts, like the heavy rockin' "Sweet Maxine", the aggressive Simmons solo cut "Out on the Streets", and the wild guitar duet "Slat Key Soquel Rag" is a hell of a lot of fun.

Thankfully, The Doobie Brothers didn't disappear after this tour, but took a break for a few years and have been active ever since. Live at the Greek Theater 1982 is one hell of a hot live album from one of Classic Rock's classiest and most dependable bands.

Track Listing
1. Listen to the Music 2:30
2. Sweet Maxine 3:48
3. Rockin' Down the Highway 3:41
4. You Belong to Me 3:24
5. Take Me In Your Arms (Rock Me) 3:50
6. Long Train Runnin' 5:10
7. Black Water 4:43
8. Minute By Minute 4:34
9. Slat Key Soquel Rag 2:21
10. Out on the Streets 4:22
11. What a Fool Believes 3:44
12. Jesus is Just Alright 4:26
13. Takin' it to the Streets 4:33
14. China Grove 3:14
15. Listen to the Music 5:27
16. Little Darling (I Need You) 3:49
17. One Step Closer 4:11
18. Dependin' on You 4:21
19. Real Love 4:20

Added: June 28th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 2054
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by