Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pharaoh: Ten Years EP

This is somewhat of a stop gap release for American power metallers Pharaoh with some tracks culled from the vinyl version of Be Gone and covers of Slayer's "Tormentor" and arguably strangely, New Model Army's "White Light". In particular their version of "White Light" is particularly effective balancing NMA's gumbo leanings with Pharaoh's much more metal based preferences.

The most notable thing to say about the covers is how unlike Iron Maiden they sound whereas the bands' original material is very much inflected with Maiden-esque stylings and can seem somewhat derivative which may well be why they've ended up on an EP.

Track Listing

  1. Ten Years
  2. When We Fly
  3. White Light
  4. Reflection and the Inevitable Future
  5. Nothing I Can Say
  6. Tormentor

Added: October 2nd 2011
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 1841
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by