Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Backjumper: White, Black, and the Lies Between

Backjumper leave no time to breathe, either between songs or between immense riffs buttressed with a monster of a bass sound and precise and intricate rhythms pummelled into submission by the drums. "Jack Bumper" is a punch-in-the-face opener overflowing with metalcore savagery, "Silence Awaits You" picking up where it left off and hammering through into "The Awakening". "Not Today" slows the tempo down a little and brings a timely change to the album with a more expansive range in the textures and a more developed song structure. The bomb is reactivated with "Prove it Wrong", a vigorous blast of venom that moves the album back to where it began in the first three tracks, as does the six-minute "Road to Hollow". Between those two tracks sits "Sun Static", with a clean mid-section and a twisted melodic guitar outro that makes this one of the best tracks here. The structure and variety of riffs and styles in "Disenchanted" make it the most ambitious track here, their bold attitude to song-writing paying off. Along with "Sun Static", the title track and the last track, "If This Is the Beginning Hope it Will End Soon", are by far the best tracks here but these two are too far back in the album to gain the attention they deserve. With a couple of atmospheric pieces the clean guitar "Trees" and the electronica outro of "Road to Hollow" thrown in to mix it up, this is a respectable piece of work. Individually, they are fine musicians, and together, they pack a punch mightier than Mr T in a room of crazy fools. With a strongly defined sound, which can at times sound like an Italian band trying to sound like an American band particularly paCMan's vocals White, Black, and the Lies Between stands head and shoulders above a lot of the stuff that's out there at the moment. You should check 'em out.

Track Listing

  1. Jack Bumper
  2. Silence Awaits You
  3. The Awakening
  4. Not Today
  5. Prove It Wrong
  6. Trees
  7. Sun Static
  8. Road To The Hollow
  9. Disenchanted
  10. White, Black, and the Lies Between
  11. If This Is The Beginning...

Added: June 19th 2011
Reviewer: Jason Guest
Related Link: Band MySpace
Hits: 2352
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by