Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Members of God: Ten Talking Words

Religion has been an active ingredient in progressive rock since the genre began several decades ago. Many artists, including Neal Morse and Genesis, have crafted wonderful work by proving that the two don't have to be mutually exclusive. Unfortunately, Members of God have attempted the same combination, and the result, Ten Talking Words, is an embarrassingly awkward and pedestrian debut.

Founded in 2009 in Italy, the members see themselves as the elements that sustain life; there is Rob from Water (keyboards), Ruel for Earth (drums), Jahn from Wind (bass), and Uriel from Fire (guitars). As if that weren't ridiculous enough, they actually cite their vocalist as Jesus of Nazareth. This can only lead to one of two conclusions: if this superstar isn't the Superstar, he is committing an extremely blasphemous act. If he really is The Lord, well, he should've picked a better band to front.

Ten Talking Words is broken down into seventeen movements, and none are very interesting. The album can best be summarized as clichéd progressive metal with odd lyrics and phrasing. The orchestration is basic, the melodies are forgettable, the musicianship is subpar, and proclamations such as "I am in command of your face" force you to laugh out loud. Vocally, Jesus (ha-ha) is does his best impression of Daniel Gildenlöw, and overall, Members of God could easily be classified as an extremely amateurish imitation of Pain of Salvation and Orphaned Land.

There isn't a single reason to recommend Ten Talking Words. Every aspect of the record is dismissible, and the insulting pretentiousness is enough to dislike Members of God on principle. Whether you're in mood for religion, progressive rock, or both, there are many other acts out there deserving of your attention; discover them, and let Members of God fade away, never to be resurrected again.

Track Listing
1. Opening
2. Someone Knows
3. Talking Words
4. Magical Water
5. Promise of Happiness
6. The Sense
7. My Friendship
8. It's Saturday
9. The Value of Past
10. People
11. Don't Murder
12. Like Empty Lyrics
13. Decline
14. Power and Fire
15. Secrecy
16. Don't Desire
17. Outro

Added: June 14th 2011
Reviewer: Jordan Blum
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 2482
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by