Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Snitzer, Andy: Traveler

Saxophone virtuoso Andy Snitzer has forged a name for himself as an outstanding studio musician having played with the likes of Elvis Costello, Aretha Franklin, Beck and countless others. He is also a fine songwriter and composer and has had a successful solo career starting with Ties That Bind released in 1994. In 1999 he released Some Quiet Place, his last studio release until this year and his brand new CD Traveler.

Snitzer is a stellar saxophone player which he so ably demonstrates throughout Traveler. His tenor and soprano saxophones shape these ten tunes, carrying the melody whilst adding colour and varying degrees of texture. He is the kind of player one never gets tired of listening to. To say this is an easy listen is an understatement. The sound is smooth, contemporary jazz with underlying doses of electronica scattered throughout. It is a subtle approach but it proves to be a great fit as the two genres intertwine seamlessly. Of course it helps to have a decent band and the rest of the players hold their own nicely. Special mention should be made of the outstanding contributions of Tim Lefebvre, David Finck, and James Genus on bass. Their fluid lines and deeply rich grooves propel these songs at just the right pace.

Songs like "Bohemia" and "Lausanne" offer a hint of electronica with smooth jazz sounds with the latter featuring a crystal clear sax groove. "Marseille" carries a lighter Latin feel while the pretty ballad "Earth From Above" has an almost spacey element, especially in the background synths. The album's last song is the excellent "Covenant" with perhaps Snitzer's strongest sax work yet. His playing here is breathtaking as is the fine bass of Genus.

All fans of contemporary jazz looking for something just a little different should look no further than Traveler. I for one really enjoyed it and I think you will too.

Track Listing:
1. Marseille (5:11)
2. Bohemia (3:56)
3. Lausanne (3:54)
4. Love Song (4:59)
5. Taking Off (4:56)
6. Traveler (5:27)
7. Mystique (4:52)
8. Veru (4:44)
9. Earth From Above (5:33)
10. Covenant (4:43)

Added: June 5th 2011
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1724
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by