Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Omision: In the Shadow of the Cross

Omision has been around since 1993, but it hasn't been until 2011 that the band would release their debut full-length effort. In the Shadow of the Cross is also the band's first effort for Chaos Records, a solid label that specializes primarily on extreme metal bands from Mexico. Omision is a good addition to the label's roster for sure, seeing that they play old school death/thrash in the style that Mexico is best known for. Omision may not be breaking too much ground with this debut, but it's clear that they know the style, and they know it quite well.

In the Shadow of the Cross is an absolutely filthy old school death metal album with plenty of influences from the American scene (Morbid Angel, Deicide) and Swedish scene (Entombed, Grave). Omision's style certainly has been done plenty of times over the last twenty years, but the sheer intensity of the music is enough to compensate for that. This album is filled with brutal riffs, spectacular drumming, raw vocals, and enough headbanging sections to keep any metalhead satisfied for multiple listens. The lyrics fall into the blasphemous/anti-Christian category; it's another thing that's certainly been done plenty of times before in death metal, but they're well-written and cohesive regardless of any clichés. A major asset for most listeners here will probably be the raw and unpolished production. The sound here is absolutely filthy (though not unprofessional at all) and sets an extremely dark tone to the heavy riffs that dominate the album's duration.

Though In the Shadow of the Cross is far from a groundbreaking and essential masterpiece, it's a good listen that all fans of Mexican death metal should further investigate. I've had a pretty great time listening to the album recently, so a 3 - 3.5 star rating is deserved. If Omision can develop a slightly more unique sound I can see them becoming major players in the Mexican extreme metal world.

Track Listing:
1. In the Shadow of the Cross
2. Your God
3. Won't be Saved
4. Assault in the Vatican
5. Beyond the Burning Gates
6. Pray
7. No Idols
8. Fallen Angels
9. Seeking the Holy Throne
10. The Downfall
11. For Those Far Away

Added: June 5th 2011
Reviewer: Jeff B
Related Link: Omision Myspace
Hits: 1635
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by