Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

NY Jazz Initiative: MAD about THAD

This is a compilation album dedicated to the jazz music composed by Thad Jones. There is an impressive group of talent from throughout New York included on the album. The key players include: Rob Derke, soprano and tenor sax; Ralph Lalama, tenor sax; Steve Wilson, alto sax; David Smith, trumpet and flugelhorn; Sam Burtis, trombone and tuba; Mark Meyers, trombone; Art Hirahara, piano, David Bryant, piano; Carlo DeRosa, bass; and Eric McPherson on drums

The NY Jazz Initiative is a 'non-profit organization that is at the forefront of redefining jazz for the future" (, 2011).

This is a great project bringing new life to the compositions of Thad Jones and providing the artists included with a chance to show their appreciation for this great American jazz trumpeter's art.

'Bird Song' is a fun romp with excellent piano, golden sax notes, trumpet and solid drums and cymbal beats.

'Quiet Lady' opens with deep slow bass chords and a Brubeck 'Take Five' sounding rhythm on drums before the trumpets and sax take the lead.

'Mean What You Say' is full of straight on trumpet and sax with the drums and cymbals creating nice effects as the piano wanders through the middle of the sound. There are more excellent solos as the song progresses with the piano filling nicely with good rhythm.

'A Child is Born' is a slow jazz rendition set to sax, piano and soft percussion. The trumpet solo is excellent.

'Lady Luck' is full of a bouncy rhythm with bass adding some cool lows with the drums and percussion doing a great job to offset the highs from the trumpets and sax.

More cool bass before the piano and Latin rhythm drums and percussion make 'Three and One' one of the best tracks on this set for me. The tenor sax takes the highs down a notch from the last couple of tracks to give the album some variety.

Muffled sax opens 'Evol Deklaw Ni' with drums and percussion in support. The sax is back as is the piano and good solid bass.

'Elusive' opens with happy trumpet bolting out in front with sax, drums and piano following quickly behind.

Track Listing

  1. Bird Song
  2. Quiet Lady
  3. Mean What You Say
  4. A Child Is Born
  5. Lady Luck
  6. Three And One
  7. Evol Deklaw Ni
  8. Elusive

Added: June 4th 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1998
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by