Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ian Boddy and Parallel Worlds: Exit Strategy

This is the latest collaboration of two keyboard and synth maestros, Ian Boddy and Bakis Sirros. The two enjoy creating music using analogue synths and keyboards. Ian Boddy plays analogue modular synths, glissando keyboards and soft synths. Bakis Sirros plays analogue modular synths, vintage keyboards, & software.

This is like taking a trip back to some of Larry Fast's work from the 70 and 80s. However, this is all new and original music.

I have most of Larry Fast's collection and used to listen to his music all the time when I was studying and relaxing. This is similar in that it is very contemplative music you can relax or think with from the comfort of your easy chair.

'Portal' starts out slow with dark synths and keys. Then we get some more sweeping synths as pulsing keys fly by as we enter more of a space realm.

'Impressario' opens with deeper pulsing keys and more eerie melodies. This track sound more like a Vangelis inspired track. The melodies and rhythm build as the track progresses. Then slows down to some cool bass like sounds before more high keys.

'Soliloquy' opens slow and quiet like a peaceful morning on the lake. The slow and sad melody that plays is still tranquil and mesmerizing.

'Entwined' includes more cool synths themes as other drift and float around the soundscape. They even include some of that more 'metallic' sound I remember from some of Fast's early work.

'Exit Strategy' is the epic, over 10 minute title track. The artists use the most keyboard and melody on the album to create some very cool dreamscapes. It is full of good sounds and highlights.

'Hidden' sounds like something bubbling up from below the waterline. Then some cool chime like sounds and rhythms unfold.

'Return' opens like some of Fast's classics with that metallic sound and an almost 'Blade Runner' effect. It is one of the most dramatic sounding tracks on the album.

Track Listing
01 Portal (4.44)
02 Impresario (8.01)
03 Soliloquy (6.53)
04 Entwined (7.20)
05 Exit Strategy (10.08)
06 Hidden (4.59)
07 Return (9.44

Added: June 4th 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 3578
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by