Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

UDO: Rev-Raptor

Who'd have thought that at this stage of his career UDO would be dashing expectations by turning out a jazz record???? Well not me and to be fair not UDO!! As sure as night follows day and that bears would rather relieve themselves in the more wooded areas of the world, UDO 2011 offer up the same brand or brash, in your face metal that they and their unmistakable frontman have become synonymous with since Dirkschneider's time in Accept.

So there are no surprises here and in truth little hope of attracting new fans to the cause. However if you ever spent time banging your head along to the tough, barbed riffs, or ruined your throat gargling along with Udo himself, then there is no doubt that you'll find plenty to get your teeth knocked out by on Rev-Raptor. It is amazing that after all these years, songs like the uncompromising "Dr. Death", or the staccato burst of "Leatherhead" would be as comfortable on Accept's Metal Heart or Russian Roulette albums as they are on this offering. Right down to the snare smack, the stinging guitar solos and the sound of the riffs, there's no possibility of mistaking these songs as anyone other than UDO, or indeed Accept and obviously that is exactly what UDO and their fans want.

The quality across the whole album is way above average and it is to the band's credit that these well worn influences and ideas never sound too tired and over used, but don't expect any surprises at any point. That's not to say that Rev-Raptor isn't a fine release with pure, honest metal delivered by one the men who really set the tone for much of the music that followed over the next couple of decades. The guitars are to the fore at almost all times and UDO is as convincing behind the mic as ever and while things may be a little familiar in places, the themes are never boring or staid.

In these troubled times of uncertainty, it is in a strange way rather comforting to know that some things refuse to change or alter course. Hats off to UDO for staying true to themselves and their fans and making yet another worthy album in the process.

Track Listing
1. Rev-Raptor
2. Leatherhead
3. Renegade
4. I Give As Good As I Get
5. Dr. Death
6. Rock 'n' Roll Soldiers
7. Terrorvision
8. Underworld
9. Pain Man
10. Fairy Tales Of Victory
11. Motor-Borg
12. True Born Winners
13. Days Of Hope And Glory

Added: July 13th 2011
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: UDO Online
Hits: 1968
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

UDO: Rev-Raptor
Posted by Butch Jones, SoT Staff Writer on 2011-07-13 19:14:44
My Score:

The former voice of thelegendary German band, Accept, Udo Dirkschneider is back with his solo band's13th album, Rev-Raptor (AFM Records). Never one for pulling any punches or giving you any falseness, U.D.O's newest effort is exactly what they have always been about, pure Classic Power Euro Metal. And thank god! No pomp and circumstance here.

Rev-Raptor is the band's 13th record and ironically this record also has 13 tracks of everything that you love about Euro Metal, go for the throat fast rockers and mid paced grooves all with that gravely throated delivery that wehave all come to love.

Udo, the man, sounds infine form and his band has never sounded better. The guitar tone on Rev-Raptor alone is worth checking out this record. From the first notes of CD opener and title track, "Rev-Raptor" it is clear that U.D.O. the band, is out to prove something to all Metaller's. 2010 was an amazing comeback for Udo's former group, Accept, with their opus, Blood of the Nationsand not to be out done in 2011, Udo shoots back with his own shot of Metal for the masses.

Rev-Raptoris filled with instant classics like the title track, with its get stuck in your head chant of "REV-RAPTOR" or the killer tune, "Renegade", with its pulsating drum line, nasty guitar riff and its sick and heavy chorus. And this is just the first 3 songs of this record. U.D.O. came out with all guns blazing and itshows. A more sensitive Udo/U.D.O. is also shown on a tune like, "I GiveAs Good As I Get", where multi-layered vocals are displayed and deeper songwriting is also shown. It's a nice break from the norm, but don't worry it is not sappy and the Metal returns back to full form with another classic in "Dr. Death". This is some cool shit, right here. It feels like the 80's all over again with some killer guitar work and double bass drums flying all over the place. This is what Metal is supposed to sound like.

Mechanical like grooves are all over this Rev-Raptor record, complete with great songwriting and individual performances. Udo's voice is in your face and sounds great, as does the entire U.D.O. band, including former Accept band mate,guitarist Stefan Kaufmann. U.D.O. sticks to the Metal script and does what they do best and just delivers a great Classic Power Metal record, with a couple of twists and turns along the way.

Udo Dirkschneider is almost 60 years old and shows NO signs of aging or slowing down at all. The man sounds like he did in '83 on Restless and Wild and THAT is no small feat. Pick this record up and be prepared!

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by