Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Solkyri: No House

Solkyri are a Sydney, Australian based, three member band, made up of Adam Mostek, on guitars and piano, Andrew Pearsall, on bass and synth, and Nicholas Hall on drums, percussion, piano, and guitar. No House is their debut release.

This is an excellent debut EP of ambient sounds and textures. The production on this EP is perfect to the point where each note can be heard at its finest. I've added this band to my watch list.

"Zee Germans" opens this debut EP with cool, echo and radiating guitar riffs, piano and trumpet, before slowing into a spacey/dream like synth and guitar trance.

A slow soft spacey bass and keys sound opens "Court A", which is one of the best tracks with Rachel Waisel's flute added at just the perfect moment. The piano, drums and guitar work are also impressive.

"This Can't Wait" opens with soft bass, chimes and keys. The guitars and drums add volume and create an almost 'bagpipes across Scotland' effect, before the soaring guitars and synths take the momentum even higher.

Beautiful piano opens "Strangers" quietly, before the lead electric joins in with chimes. Waisel's flute is back and it sounds perfect, mixed with the cello that joins the soundscape. The piano work is wonderful and all of the instruments that build this wall of sound make this another of the best tracks on the album. The drums and guitar work are so intricate and unique and pick up the pace as the song reaches its climax. This is the longest track and every note can be cherished on this well produced and sonically clear album.

"Young Man You Will Die of this Company" is an interesting title giving the listener a peek into the origins of this piece. The chimes and guitar that open the song are unexpected but brilliant. Then the bass and drums bring volume, before the tuba is added to the mix. Interesting instrument to add along with the blaring trumpet. Gives the entire song an anthemic quality, while keeping it grounded. The marching drums and chimes take us out.

Beautiful piano and slow electric guitar opens my favorite track, "Slowly We Take Steps (Astronaut)". You can almost feel the sensation of taking those first steps with the synths that surround the soundscape to take this one over the top.

An excellent debut EP.

Track Listing

  1. Zee Germans
  2. Court-A
  3. This Can't Wait
  4. Strangers
  5. Young Man You Will Die of this Company
  6. Slowly We Take Steps (Astronaut)

Added: June 1st 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2250
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by