Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dorian Opera: Crusade 1212

German progressive metal band Dorian Opera formed in 2007 and released their debut No Secrets in 2008. It is early in 2011 but surely their brand new album Crusade 1212 will make many 'best of' lists come the end of the year. This is a great band and their latest album proves it without a doubt.

In the band are Sven The Axe (vocals), Oli Weislogel (guitars), Joe Eisenburger (bass) , Andrew Roussak (keyboards) and Harry Reischmann (drums) along with guest vocalist Alexandra Goess.

Crusade 1212 is a concept album relating to the Children's Crusade of 1212. The story tells of a young boy in either France or Germany who was visited by Jesus Christ. He then began to gather children, as many as 30,000, and lead them to the Holy Land. Unfortunately, most did not get to their destination as it proved to be a very difficult journey. The children were ravaged by exhaustion, starvation, slavery and one disaster after another. The protagonist of the story is Jan, born in North Germany and destined to become leader of the Crusade. It is an epic story of love, hardship and tragedy and one the band tells vividly with their words and ever so dramatic music. It is an epic concept with grandiose music to match.

The band mixes power, progressive and symphonic metal and wraps it up in an awesome display of musicianship and prowess. This is an intense listen and if you are looking for comparisons with other bands Symphony X and Dream Theater would be your best bet but Dorian Opera have a unique sound that is all their own. If you enjoy solos you really need to listen to 1212. Great guitar and keyboard solos abound making this one of the most adventurous albums I have heard in a while without sounding too overwrought with pretention. Every note seems to fit perfectly within the concept and scope of the music. Just listen to the staccato rhythms, soaring lead guitar and wonderful organ in "Follow Your Heart" to hear what I am talking about. The band switches from power metal and neo classical shredding to power ballad style with ease and everything flows beautifully.

Other highlights include the dramatic "Ouverture 1212" where an atmospheric backdrop of keys and synths augment soaring lead guitar and the pretty acoustic ballad "Two hearts" with excellent lead vocals by Goess.

The album ends with "So Long" and "Hope", a couple of melodic gems filled with sublime keys, excellent vocals and crystal clear guitar work. I should mention the production is fantastic throughout.

Crusade 1212 is the real deal folks, loaded with great hooks and monumental musicianship. This is some of the finest bombastic metal you are likely to hear. Do yourself a favour and check them out.

Track Listing:
1. Ouverture 1212 (instr.)
2. Soldier Of Fortune
3. Sermon In Saint-Denis
4. Follow Your Heart
5. Crusade (instr.)
6. Two Hearts
7. Harbour Of Marseilles
8. Carthago
9. So Long
10. Hope

Added: May 8th 2011
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 4351
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by