Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Primordial: Redemption at the Puritan's Hand

On Primordial's seventh album Redemption at the Puritan's Hand, the Irish black/pagan metal band deliver a pulverizing collection of epic tracks that center on the theme of 'death'. One of the things that has always been said about Primordial is just how consistent they are, and Redemption at the Puritan's Hand is another complete winner for this veteran band.

"No Grave Deep Enough" sets the stage for the dark, somber nature of this album, a raging number that sees both black metal screams & more traditional metal vocals from the very talented A.A. Nemtheanga, along with some heavy yet textured guitar riffs and powerful rhythms. On "Lain With the Wolf", Nemtheanga delivers some truly chilling lyrics to go with the mix of icy black metal riffs and Celtic flavored harmony lines. The gloomier, more doom based "Bloodied Yet Unbowed" is near 9-minutes of crushing texture, with Nemtheanga wailing with utter conviction, while "God's Old Snake" is pure black/death metal, complete with some wild snarling & growling vocals. The weakest cut here might be "The Mouth of Judas", a doomy number that just drags on for nearly 9 minutes and never really gets going, but the raging "The Black Hundred" quickly makes you forget about that lackluster cut, as this one really burns and shows just how much passion Primordial can deliver. The title track however is a doom number that really works, complete with slow, crushing riffs that just imbed into your spine and render you senseless, with Nemtheanga's agonizing wail shaking your foundation. Closer "Death Of Gods" is an epic pagan metal piece for all who loved Primordial's last release To The Nameless Dead. It could have easily been a leftover from that fantastic album.

There you have it, another winner from Primordial. No real surprises, but what these guys do they do so well. One of the classiest and most intense extreme metal bands going today.

Track Listing
1. No Grave Deep Enough 7:10
2. Lain With The Wolf 8:25
3. Bloodied Yet Unbowed 8:47
4. Gods Old Snake 6:25
5. The Mouth Of Judas 8:53
6. The Black Hundred 6:19
7. The Puritans Hand 8:36
8. Death Of Gods 9:21

Added: May 7th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3570
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by